Party Candidate Votes Status
196/196 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
NDP France GĂ©linas 19,941 Elected
LIB James Tregonning 6,977
PC Marck Blay 3,782
GRN Heather K. Dahlstrom 1,123

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

Surrounding the northern riding of Sudbury, Nickel Belt is a mix of the urban and rural communities.

The riding encompasses Val Caron, Hamner, Capreol, Coniston, Nickel Belt, Rayside-Balfour, Valley East and Walden. Also in this riding are the Mattagami and Whitefish Lake native reserves.

Natural resources, especially mining, play an important part in the local economy.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the new Nickel Belt riding combined the majority of the old Nickel Belt with two-thirds of Sudbury East.

Population:92,391 (2011 census; an increase of 3.4% since 2006)

Political history

The NDP's France Gelinas won for a second time in 2011 with a margin of 9,425 votes against Liberal Tony Ryma, following a 2,762-vote win over Liberal Ron Dupuis in 2007.

Nickel Belt is one of the few long-standing NDP strongholds in the province, and has been for more than 30 years.

In 1971, the NDP's Floyd Laughren beat two-term Tory incumbent Gaston Demers. Laughren, who served as finance minister under Bob Rae, held the seat until 1998, when he resigned to become head of the Ontario Energy Board.

NDP candidate Blain Morin won the resulting byelection, but chose not to run again in 1999.

The NDP's Shelley Martel won the old riding of Sudbury East in 1987 and later served in Bob Rae's cabinet. She resigned in 1994 (the same year she married fellow MPP Howard Hampton), but ran again in 1995 and in the restructured Nickel Belt riding in 1999, winning both times.

Her streak continued in 2003 as she defeated Liberal Alex McCauley by 2,826 votes.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


NDP France Gélinas 16,826 54.89%
LIB Tony Ryma 7,434 24.25%
PC Paula Peroni 5,625 18.35%
GRN Stephanie-Lynn Russell 770 2.51%



The boundaries of this riding have changed since the last census, so accurate current demographic information is unavailable.


2014 Candidates

Conservative   Marck Blay
Liberal   James Tregonning
NDP   France Gélinas
Green   Heather K. Dahlstrom