Party Candidate Votes Status
240/241 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Charles Sousa 22,116 Elected
PC Effie Triantafilopoulos 14,498
NDP Boris Rosolak 4,621
GRN Lloyd Jones 1,416
NAP Andrew Weber 595
LTN James Judson 354

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This entire riding lies within the city of Mississauga, and includes some of the oldest neighborhoods, such as Lorne Park, Lakeview, Port Credit and Clarkson.

The borders run from Dundas Street and the Queen Elizabeth Way in the north to the shoreline of Lake Ontario in the south. In the west, its borders start at Winston Churchill Boulevard and the Mississauga city limits, while it ends in the east at Etobicoke Creek.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Mississauga South folded 10 per cent of the old Mississauga East riding and six per cent of the old Mississauga West riding into all of Mississauga South.

The 2007 redistribution added eight per cent of Mississauga Centre.

Population: 112,583 (up from 110,932  in the 2006 census)

Political history

Liberal Charles Sousa prevailed over PC Tim Peterson by more than 5,000 votes in 2007. Peterson was elected under the Liberal banner in 2003, when he edged out PC Margaret Marland by 248 votes, and switched over the PCs. The riding was a PC stronghold before the 2003 vote.

Sousa won with more than 50% of the popular vote in 2011. 

He is now the Minister of Finance for the governing Liberals. He was appointed to cabinet after running unsuccessfully for the Liberal leadership, losing to Kathleen Wynne.

Marland held the riding from 1985 to 1999. Prior to that, in the pre-1999 Mississauga South riding, Tory Doug Kennedy won in 1975, 1977 and 1981.

In the old riding of Peel (which this area used to cover), Progressive Conservative T.L. Kennedy won an impressive 11 elections for the Tories between 1919 and 1955, failing only in the election of 1934. Kennedy held a number of cabinet portfolios and served briefly as the party's interim leader and provincial premier from 1948 to 1949.

Kennedy was succeeded by fellow Tory Bill Davis, who won the riding in 1959 and 1963. Davis went on to serve as premier from 1971 to 1985.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Charles Sousa 20,244 50.62
PC Geoff Janoscik 14,446 36.12
NDP Anju Sikka 4,044 10.11
GRN Cory Mogk 857 2.14
FP Mark Harris 238 0.60
VEP Paul Figueiras 165 0.41



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Effie Triantafilopoulos
Liberal   Charles Sousa
NDP   Boris Rosolak
Green   Lloyd Jones
Libertarian    James Judson
None of the Above Party (NOTA)   Andrew Weber