Party Candidate Votes Status
255/255 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Harinder S. Takhar 25,174 Elected
PC Jeff White 15,375
NDP Michelle Bilek 7,745
GRN Vivek Gupta 1,196
LTN Christopher Jewell 892
NAP Greg Vezina 706
FCP Nabila Kiyani 469

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This entire riding lies within the city of Mississauga, and includes the Mississauga campus of the University of Toronto and the neighbourhood of Streetsville.

The borders run from Britannia Road and Eglinton Avenue in the north to Dundas Street in the south. In the west, its borders start at Ninth Line, while it ends in the east at Mavis Road.

Population: 160,663 (in 2011, up from 143,361 in 2006)

Political history

Liberal Harinder Takhar prevailed over PC David Brown in two consecutive elections, in 2007 and 2011. 

The riding was created in 2003 from parts of Mississauga Centre and Mississauga West ridings. The area was a PC stronghold before the 2003 vote.

In the pre-1999 Mississauga South riding, Tory Doug Kennedy won in 1975, 1977 and 1981.

In the old riding of Peel (which this area used to cover), Progressive Conservative T.L. Kennedy won an impressive 11 elections for the Tories between 1919 and 1955, failing only in the election of 1934. Kennedy held a number of cabinet portfolios and served briefly as the party's interim leader and provincial premier from 1948 to 1949.

Kennedy was succeeded by fellow Tory Bill Davis, who won the riding in 1959 and 1963. Davis went on to serve as premier from 1971 to 1985.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Harinder Takhar 20,552 45.0
PC David Brown 16,294 37.7
NDP Michelle Bilek 7,768 17.0
GRN Otto Casanova 853 1.9
FP Gerald Jackson 176 0.40



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Jeff White
Liberal   Harinder S. Takhar
NDP   Michelle Bilek
Green   Vivek Gupta
Libertarian   Christopher Jewell
Family Coalition Party of Ontario    Nabila Kiyani
None of the Above Party (NOTA)    Greg Vezina