Party Candidate Votes Status
216/216 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Amrit Mangat 19,832 Elected
PC Amarjeet Gill 11,259
NDP Kevin Troake 6,868
GRN Kathy Acheson 1,392
LTN Richard Levesque 1,053
NAP Kathleen Vezina 604
IND Robert Alilovic 371

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This Greater Toronto Area riding is in a rapidly growing part of the cities of Mississauga and Brampton. It is bordered by Dixie Road, Highway 401, Eglinton Avenue and Etobicoke Creek in the east and Mississauga Road, Highway 401 and Terry Fox Way in the west, between Burnhamthorpe Road, Central Parkway and Highway 403 in the south, and Steeles Avenue and the northern limit of Mississauga to the north.

The main employers are manufacturing, retail trade and service sectors, including automotive and aviation technology, and transportation, storage and business services. Average family income is $91,869 and unemployment is 6.4 per cent.

The 2007 redistribution created this riding out of 60 per cent of Brampton West-Mississauga, 24 per cent of Mississauga East, 15 per cent of Mississauga Centre and a small section of Bramalea-Gore-Malton-Springdale.

Population: 147,096 (2011 census; an increase of 7.2% since 2006)

Political history

Liberal Amrit Mangat won the riding by more than 5,000 votes - 15 per cent margin - over the PCs Amarjeet Gill in 2011. But he prevailed over Progressive Conservative Ravi Singh by double that, a 10,405-vote margin, in 2007.

But since the riding stretches across two cities and used to be part of four different ridings, the political history is more complex than that.

Progressive Conservative Tony Clement claimed Brampton West-Mississauga in the 1995 election, and was re-elected in 1999. The Liberals took the riding in 2003 as Vic Dhillon edged out Clement by a 2,541-vote margin.

Carl DeFaria captured Mississauga East for the Tories in 1995 and held onto it in 1999, but lost in 2003 as Liberal Peter Fonseca won by 2,860 votes.

Tory Rob Sampson won Mississauga Centre comfortably in 1999, beating Liberal George Winter by more than 4,100 votes. But in 2003, Tory support was on the wane. Sampson lost to Liberal Harinder S. Takhar that year. Takhar was named transportation minister in 2003 and small business and entrepreneur minister in 2007.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Amrit Mangat 15,579 45.85
PC Amarjeet Gill 10,285 30.27
NDP Karanjit Pandher 5,419 15.95
GRN Keith Foster 1,390 4.09
LTN Christin Milloy 691 2.03
IND Masood Khan 400 1.18
IND Walter Widla 214 0.63



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Amarjeet Gill
Liberal   Amrit Mangat
NDP   Kevin Troake
Green   Kathy Acheson
Libertarian    Richard Levesque
None of the Above Party (NOTA)   Kathleen Vezina
Independent   Robert Alilovic