Party Candidate Votes Status
192/192 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
NDP Teresa Armstrong 17,950 Elected
PC Chris Robson 8,189
LIB Marcel Marcellin 7,066
GRN Wil Sorrell 1,374
FP Paul McKeever 503
LTN Tim Harnick 386
IND Ali Aref Hamadi 113

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This London-area riding takes in a broad mix of workplaces and neighbourhoods.

The borders run from the city limits of London in the north to Exeter Road and Bradley Avenue in the south. In the west, it begins at Highbury Avenue to Thames River and railway line to the London City limits again in the east.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the riding was formed from parts of the old London Centre, London South and Middlesex ridings.

Population: 107,218 (2006 census; a decrease of 0.1% since 2001)

Political history

New Democrat Theresa Armstrong defeated Liberal Khalil Ramal in 2011 by 4,275 votes.

Ramal had emerged victorious in the 2007 election, garnering 3,982 more votes than PC Jim Chapman. New Democrat Stephen Maynard, meanwhile, had only 410 fewer votes than Chapman.

Ramal was first elected to the riding in 2003, when he beat New Democrat Irene Mathyssen by 1,879 votes and Tory Frank Mazzilli by 2,153. Mazzilli won the new London-Fanshawe riding in 1999, defeating Liberal Peter Mancini by 1,383 votes.

The Tories held the old riding of London South through much of the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s (barring a 1975 election win by Liberal John Ferris). Liberal Joan Smith won the seat again in 1985 and 1987. New Democrat David Winninger won a solid victory here in 1990 but lost the seat by more than 7,000 votes to Tory Bob Wood in 1995.

Liberal David Peterson won his first term as the MPP for London Centre in 1975 and launched an unsuccessful bid for the party leadership the next year. He was re-elected in 1977 and 1981, and became party leader on his second bid in 1982.

In 1985, he was re-elected and became premier of a minority government backed by the NDP. Both Peterson and his government were re-elected in 1987, and both were knocked from power by the NDP in 1990. The victor in that race, Marion Boyd, served in the cabinet of Bob Rae and was one of the few NDP members to survive the Tory sweep of 1995.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


NDP Teresa Armstrong 13,953 40.77
LIB Khalil Ramal 9,678 28.28
PC Cheryl Miller 9,075 26.52
GRN Bassam Lazar 852 2.49
LTN Tim Harnick 320 0.93
IND Ali Aref Hamadi 192 0.56
FP Dave Durnin 155 0.45




Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%
Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Chris Robson
Liberal   Marcel Marcellin
NDP   Teresa Armstrong
Green   Wil Sorrell
Libertarian   Tim Harnick
Freedom Party of Ontario    Paul McKeever
Independent    Ali Aref Hamadi