Party Candidate Votes Status
224/224 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
PC Monte McNaughton 20,609 Elected
NDP Joe Hill 12,157
LIB Mike Radan 9,297
GRN James Armstrong 2,103
FCP Marinus Vander Vloet 560
NAP Bob Lewis 552
FP Dave Durnin 242
LTN Matt Willson 213

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This largely rural southwestern riding is home to five native reserves, including Ipperwash along Lake Huron's shore.

The riding runs from Lake Huron in the north to the Thames River in the south, with Lake St. Clair in the southwest corner.

It encompasses Wallaceburg, Petrolia, Strathroy, Forest, Glencoe, Wyoming and Walpole Island.

Following the 1999 redistribution, this riding was formed from 40 per cent of Chatham-Kent, about 60 per cent of Lambton, 34 per cent of Middlesex and two per cent of Essex-Kent.

Population: 106,805 (2011 census; a decrease of 0.8% since 2006)

Political history

Incumbent Monte McNaughon once again won the riding for the Tories by 6,956 over Liberal Maria Van Bommel in 2011.  Lambton-Kent-Middlesex was first won by McNaughton in 2007 by 4,900 votes over then incumbentVan Bommel. Prior to that election, the riding that been held by the Liberals since 2003.

In 1999, the new Lambton-Kent-Middlesex riding was captured by Marcel Beaubien, former MPP for Lambton, who defeated Liberal Larry O'Neill.

PC candidate Lorne Henderson won elections in Lambton East in 1963 and in Lambton in 1967, 1971, 1975, 1977 and 1981. Liberal Dave Smith won Lambton in 1985 and 1987, and NDP candidate Ellen MacKinnon won in 1990. In 1995, it was won by PC Marcel Beaubien.

In the old riding of Chatham-Kent, Tory Darcy McKeough sat from 1967 until his retirement in 1978. The riding went to the Liberals, NDP and PCs in successive elections.

In the former riding of Middlesex, PC candidate Bob Eaton won in 1975, 1977 and 1981 before losing to Liberal Doug Reycraft in 1985. In 1990, the NDP's Irene Mathyssen defeated Reycraft.

Mathyssen finished third in 1995, unseated by PC Bruce Smith. She later ran in London-Fanshawe in 1997, 1999 and 2003 without success, but finally took the seat in 2006. Reycraft has since gone on to serve three terms as mayor of Southwest Middlesex.

In 1999, Smith ran in the redistributed Elgin-Middlesex-London riding, but lost to Liberal Steve Peters. 

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


PC Monte McNaughton 19,384 45.66
LIB Maria Van Bommel 12,424 29.27
NDP Joe Hill 8,876 20.91
GRN James Armstrong 986 2.32
FCP Marinus Vander Vloet 400 0.94
REF Brad Harness 232 0.55
FP Tom Jackson 150 0.35




Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Monte McNaughton
Liberal   Mike Radan
NDP   Joe Hill
Green   James Armstrong
Libertarian   Matt Willson
Family Coalition Party of Ontario    Marinus Vander Vloet
Freedom Party of Ontario   Dave Durnin
None of the Above Party (NOTA)   Bob Lewis