Party Candidate Votes Status
245/245 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Peter Milczyn 23,950 Elected
PC Doug Holyday 17,402
NDP P. C. Choo 6,348
GRN Angela Salewsky 2,083
LTN Mark Wrzesniewski 345
FP Jeff Merklinger 298
SPO Natalie Lochwin 230
OMP Ian Lytvyn 148

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

The southernmost of the three Etobicoke ridings is bounded on the south by Lake Ontario, in the north by Burnhamthorpe Road and Dundas Street, in the west by Highway 427 and in the east by the Humber River.

The riding is comprised of mainly residential areas in the north, while the south has a mix of residential and industrial.

In 1999, Etobicoke-Lakeshore absorbed 20 per cent of the old Etobicoke-Humber riding and 15 per cent of Etobicoke West.

Population: 114,641 (2006 census; an increase of 0.6% since 2001)

Political history

This riding recently swung to the Progressive Conservatives, when Doug Holyday won the seat for the party in an August 2013 byelection.

The seat had been Liberal for more than 10 years before that, when Laurel Broten was first elected in Etobicoke-Lakeshore in 2003.

Broten was re-elected in 2007, by a margin of more than 6,700 votes over PC hopeful Tom Barlow.

In 2011, Broten took 51 per cent of the vote, but announced in June of 2013 that she was stepping down from politics. Her resignation took effect on July 2.

Prior to Broten, PC Morley Kells had held the riding for two consecutive terms.

Kells was first elected in 1995, trouncing Liberal Bruce Davis and the NDP's Ruth Grier. Grier was elected to represent the riding in 1990 and would go on to hold the environment and health portfolios.

One of Etobicoke-Lakeshore's most famous former MPPs is Alan Eagleson, who sat as the riding's Tory member from 1963 to 1967. Eagleson left to head the National Hockey League Players' Association. The riding was won by Tory and NDP candidates in the 1970s and 1980s.

2013 Provincial Byelection Results

Party Candidate Total votes %
PC    Doug Holyday 16,034 46.75
LIB Peter Milczyn 14,506 42.3
NDP P.C. Choo 2,542 7.41
GRN Angela Salewsky 771 2.25
PPSN Dan King 157 0.46
LTN Hans Kunov 152 0.44
TP Kevin Clarke 87 0.25
FP Wayne Simmons 46 0.13




Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census



2014 Candidates

Conservative   Doug Holyday
Liberal   Peter Milczyn
NDP   P.C. Choo
Green   Angela Salewsky
Libertarian   Mark Wrzesniewski
Freedom Party of Ontario    Jeff Merklinger
Socialist Party of Ontario    Natalie Lochwin
Ontario Moderate Party   Ian Lytvyn