Party Candidate Votes Status
230/230 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
PC Jeff Yurek 20,762 Elected
NDP Kathy Cornish 11,942
LIB Serge Lavoie 9,051
GRN John Fisher 2,208
FP Clare Maloney 798

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This southern Ontario riding borders Lake Erie in south, the city of London to the north and the Thames River in the northwest.

Following the 1999 riding redistribution, the new Elgin-Middlesex-London incorporated all of Elgin, almost 20 per cent of Middlesex and a small portion of London South.

The 2007 redistribution added Thames Centre and removed Delaware Township.

Population: 114,294 (2011 census; an increase of 3.9% since 2006)

Political history

PC candidate Jeff Yurek captured the riding by a healthy vote margin in 2011, beating Liberal Lori Baldwin-Sands. Before that election, Liberal Steve Peters had held the riding since 1999.

Peters carried the riding by more than 7,600 votes in 2007. In 2003, he beat Tory Smith by a convincing 11,766-vote margin. Peters narrowly beat out Smith in 1999.

In the former riding of Elgin, Mitch Hepburn (premier from 1934 to 1942) sat as a Liberal and then as a Liberal-Independent. He was followed by PC candidate Ron McNeil, who won eight successive elections starting in 1959. The Conservative run came to an end in 1987, when the Liberals retook the seat.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


PC Jeff Yurek 19,816 47.89
LIB Lori Baldwin-Sands 11,109 26.85
NDP Kathy Cornish 9,192 22.22
GRN Eric Loewen 978 2.36
FP Paul McKeever 281 0.68



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Jeff Yurek
Liberal   Serge Lavoie
NDP   Kathy Cornish
Green   John Fisher
Freedom Party of Ontario    Clare Maloney