Party Candidate Votes Status
215/215 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Kathleen Wynne 26,215 Elected
PC David Porter 14,082
NDP Khalid Ahmed 3,569
GRN Louis Fliss 1,286
LTN Patrick Boyd 338
COM Dimitrios Kabitsis 153
IND Brock Burrows 138
VEP Rosemary Waigh 116
FP Tracy Curley 83

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

Election map

This riding is bordered by Highway 401 to the north and the Don River to the south. Yonge Street and Bayview Avenue comprise its western boundary, while its eastern boundaries include Don Mills Road, the Canadian National rail line and the east branch of the Don River.

It includes the affluent neighbourhoods of the Bridle Path and Leaside as well as the densely populated, lower-income communities of Flemingdon and Thorncliffe Park.

During the redistribution in 1999, this new riding was created from 47 per cent of York Mills, 40 per cent of York East, 36 per cent of Don Mills and 22 per cent of Eglinton.

Population: 117,083 (2006 census; an increase of 1.3% since 2001)

Political history

Liberal Kathleen Wynne won this riding for a third straight term in 2011, with more than 58 per cent of the vote.  In early 2012, she won leadership of the Ontario Liberal Party and as a result, became premier.

In 2007, Wynne held off a challenge from PC Leader John Tory in 2007. Tory lost again in a 2009 byelection in Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock, and then quit as party leader.

Wynne beat PC David Turnbull by 6,153 votes in 2003. Turnbull was first elected to Don Valley West in 1999.

From 1963 to 1987, the old riding of York Mills was firmly under PC rule. Liberal Brad Nixon ended the Tory streak in 1987, but was defeated by PC candidate David Turnbull in 1990.

The Progressive Conservatives served six consecutive terms in the former riding of York East between 1967 and 1985. Liberal Christine Hart won in 1985, marking the first time a Liberal had been elected in the riding since 1902. She was re-elected in 1987, but defeated in 1990 by the NDP's Gary Malkowski. The Tories retook the seat in 1995 as John Parker won the seat.

In 1999, Parker ran in the newly created riding of Eglinton-Lawrence, but lost to Liberal Mike Colle.


2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Kathleen Wynne 24,454 58.34
PC Andrea Mandel-Campbell 12,828 30.60
NDP Khalid Ahmed 3,611 8.61
GRN Louis Fliss 718 1.71
COM Dimitris Kabitsis 125 0.30
VEP Rosemary Waigh 108 0.26
FP Soumen Deb 74 0.18



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 6.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census



2014 Candidates

Conservative   David Porter
Liberal   Kathleen Wynne
NDP   Khalid Ahmed
Green   Louis Fliss
Libertarian    Patrick Boyd
Freedom Party of Ontario    Tracy Curley
Communist    Dimitrios Kabitsis
Vegan Environmental Party   Rosemary Waigh
Independent    Brock Burrows