Party Candidate Votes Status
203/203 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Michael Coteau 19,253 Elected
PC Angela Kennedy 9,227
NDP Akil Sadikali 4,492
GRN Christopher McLeod 1,264
FP Wayne Simmons 287

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

election map

This suburban Toronto riding is bordered in the north by Finch Avenue and in the south by the boundary of East York. The Don River, Leslie Street, and the Canadian National and Canadian Pacific Railway lines border it in the west, while Victoria Park Avenue marks the eastern boundary.

The riding was created in 1999 from nearly 75 per cent of the old riding of Oriole, 40 per cent of York Mills, almost 25 per cent of Don Mills and a small piece of Willowdale.

Population: 109,640 (2006 census; a decrease of 1.4% since 2001)

Political history

Liberal Michael Coteau held onto this seat for the party, winning 51 per cent of the vote.

Previously, Liberal David Caplan had held the Don Valley East seat, but he decided not to run again in 2011.

In 2007, Caplan won the riding by more than 10,000 votes. He won by a similar margin in 2003 when he beat PC Paul Sutherland by 9,226 votes.

In the old Oriole riding, Liberal Elinor Caplan — David Caplan's mother — defeated long-sitting Tory John Williams in 1985. Caplan was re-elected three times before resigning the seat to run federally. She was succeeded by her son, who prevailed in 1999 vote.

The York Mills riding was held by the Tories from 1963 to 1987, when Liberal Brad Nixon was elected. PC candidate David Turnbull defeated Nixon in 1990 and was re-elected in 1995.

The riding of Don Mills was PC territory from 1971 until 1987, when Dennis Timbrell was defeated by his Liberal opponent. The riding went to the NDP in the 1990 election, but was reclaimed by the Tories in 1995, with Dave Johnson taking the seat.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Michael Coteau 16,342 51.08
PC Michael Lende 8,604 26.89
NDP Bob Hilliard 5,953 18.61
GRN Aren Bedrosyan 742 2.32
FCP Ryan Kidd 188 0.59
FP Wayne Simmons 164 0.51




Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census


2014 Candidates

Conservative   Angela Kennedy
Liberal   Michael Coteau
NDP   Akil Sadikali
Green   Christopher McLeod
Freedom Party of Ontario    Wayne Simmons