Party Candidate Votes Status
166/166 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Cristina Martins 16,205 Elected
NDP Jonah Schein 14,164
PC Lan Daniel 2,619
GRN Daniel Stein 1,974
LTN Nunzio Venuto 252
COM Mariam Ahmad 174
FP Franz Cauchi 111
PPP Troy Young 99

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile


This downtown Toronto riding contains the province's largest Portuguese community and the second highest share of Vietnamese speakers.

Located in the west side of Toronto, it also encompasses a small part of the former city of York in the north. It runs from the CN line in the west to an eastern border marked in various spots by Dovercourt Road, Ossington Avenue, Winona Drive and Dufferin Street.

The Davenport riding was created in 1999 from 55 per cent of the old Dovercourt riding, 36 per cent of Parkdale, 23 per cent of Oakwood and 11 per cent of High Park-Swansea. Each pre-redistribution riding was represented by one of the three major parties.

Population: 104,615 (2006 census; a decrease of 6.3% since 2001)

Political history

Jonah Schein picked up this riding for the New Democrats in 2011, winning nearly 46 per cent of the vote. Liberal candidate Cristina Martins was a close second, drawing 41.4 per cent of the vote.

Prior the 2011 election, former MPP Tony Ruprecht had held the riding.

Solidly NDP through the 1970s, the former riding of Parkdale went Liberal with Ruprecht in 1981. Ruprecht served in David Peterson's cabinet, and won every election after that until the riding was abolished in 1999.

He planned to run in the newly redistributed Parkdale-High Park riding in 1999, but stepped aside for star candidate Gerard Kennedy. Instead, he ran and won the Davenport riding.

The old riding of Dovercourt was dominated by the NDP's Tony Silipo, who served in the cabinet of Bob Rae, until the 1999 redistribution and election.

In the old riding of Oakwood, the NDP held the seat from 1975 until 1987, when it was won by Liberal candidate, Chaviva Hosek. Oakwood went back to the NDP in 1990, but was recaptured by the Liberals with a 975-vote majority in 1995.


2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


NDP Jonah Schein 14,504 45.80
LIB Cristina Martins 13,009 41.08
PC Kirk Russell 2,593 8.19
GRN Frank de Jong 840 2.65
IND Mark Jagg 330 1.04
COM Miguel Figueroa 169 0.53
FP Franz Cauchi 107 0.34
PHR Allix Thompson 80 0.25
TOP Kiros Ghiwot 36 0.11



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census


2014 Candidates

Conservative   Lan Daniel
Liberal   Cristina Martins
NDP   Jonah Schein
Green   Daniel Stein
Libertarian    Nunzio Venuto
Freedom Party of Ontario    Franz Cauchi
Communist   Mariam Ahmad
The People    Troy Young