Party Candidate Votes Status
311/311 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
PC Jack MacLaren 30,501 Elected
LIB Rosalyn Stevens 20,472
NDP John Hansen 8,748
GRN Andrew West 4,614

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile


The Ottawa River forms the northern border of this affluent eastern Ontario riding. The suburban and rural area contains Ottawa's southwestern suburbs and the town of Mississippi Mills in Lanark County.

The riding is bordered on the northeast by March Valley Road, Eagleson Road and Riddell Road, on the southeast by McCordick Road and on the southwest by Ashton Station Road.

This riding was created in 2007 using 58 per cent of Lanark-Carleton and 18 per cent of Nepean-Carleton.

Population: 149,769 (2011 census; an increase of 16.2% since 2006)

Political history

Jack MacLaren, known for libertarian views, won the riding in 2011 after scoring a surprise upset in the PC nomination process, when he beat centrist Norm Sterling, who had held nine cabinet posts during a 34-year political career.

Sterling served as an MPP from 1977 to 2011. In the 2007 election, he scored a convincing victory, beating the Liberal candidate by an 8,350-vote margin.

Lanark-Carleton has been traditionally Tory and voters continued the trend in 1999 and 2003, electing Sterling by decisive margins in both years. In 2003, he beat Liberal Marianne Wilkinson by more than 6,000 votes.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


PC Jack MacLaren 28,247 50.26
LIB Megan Cornell 19,144 34.06
NDP Liam Duff 6,406 11.40
GRN Scott Simser 1,857 3.30
FCP Cynthia Bredfeldt 548 0.98



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61% National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Jack MacLaren
Liberal   Rosalyn Stevens
NDP   John Hansen
Green   Andrew West