Party Candidate Votes Status
39/39 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
PC Pat Dunn 4,147 Elected
NDP Ross Landry 2,373
LIB Bill Muirhead 1,415

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

Pictou Centre consists of the urban area of Pictou County, including the towns of New Glasgow, Stellarton and Trenton.

Stellarton is the national headquarters of the Sobeys grocery store chain, while New Glasgow is a regional shopping and services centre for the northern part of the province.

Political history:

Residents of this Progressive Conservative stronghold voted Tory for most of the 1980s, 1990s and 2000s. The last Liberal to win the seat was Ralph Fiske in 1970.

This was former premier John Hamm's seat, which he first won in 1993. Hamm resigned as premier in 2005, but stayed on as MLA for Pictou Centre until the 2006 election.

Pat Dunn then took up the Tory banner, winning the 2006 election by a wide margin. He was defeated by New Democrat Ross Landry in the 2009 election by 131 votes.

  • 2009: New Democrat Ross Landry wins the riding with 46 per cent of the vote. Only 131 votes separate him and his closest rival, Progressive Conservative Pat Dunn.
  • 2006: Pat Dunn takes more than 50 per cent of the vote to win the seat after the retirement of former Progressive Conservative premier John Hamm.
  • 2003: John Hamm wins 55 per cent of the vote, defeating Liberal Tim Daley by 2,473 votes.
  • 1999: John Hamm wins 64 per cent of the vote, ahead of New Democrat Jeff Callaghan and Liberal Marie Maxwell.
  • 1998: John Hamm defeats Liberal Roseanne Skoke by nearly 3,000 votes.
  • 1993: John Hamm defeats Liberal Mary Daley by 476 votes.