Party Candidate Votes Status
53/53 polls Updated: Oct. 9, 2013 12:03 AM EDT
LIB Keith Irving 3,939 Elected
NDP Ramona Jennex 3,568
PC Shane Buchan 2,278
GRN Sheila G. Richardson 251

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

District profile:

Kings South includes the southern part of Kings County and the Cambridge and Horton reserves. It also contains the town of Wolfville, home to Acadia University with 4,200 students and the Grand Pre National Historic site.

It also includes much of the shopping and manufacturing corridor between Wolfville and Kentville; these sectors are the main employers in areas such as New Minas and Coldbrook.

Political history:

Kings South has made for dramatic watching on previous election nights, with many outcomes being decided by 650 votes or less over the past 20 years.

In 2009, New Democrat Ramona Jennex bucked the trend by winning the riding with a margin of more than 1,200 votes.

She defeated Progressive Conservative David Morse, who had been voted in to the House of Assembly in three previous elections.

The Liberals held the seat for much of the mid-1990s.

  • 2009: New Democrat Ramona Jennex wins the riding with 41 per cent of the vote, defeating longtime Progressive Conservative David Morse.
  • 2006: David Morse wins by 658 votes over his nearest rival, New Democrat David Mangle. Ray Savage is third for the Liberals.
  • 2003: David Morse receives 37 per cent of the vote to defeat David Mangle by 553 votes. Liberal Maura Ryan comes in a strong third with 30 per cent of the popular vote.
  • 1999: David Morse defeats Liberal cabinet minister Robbie Harrison by 650 votes. New Democrat Mary DeWolfe is third with 26 per cent of the popular vote.
  • 1998: Robbie Harrison defeats Mary DeWolfe by 358 votes and David Morse by nearly 600 votes.
  • 1993: Robbie Harrison beats Progressive Conservative Harry How by 128 votes. Derrick Kimball runs as an Independent and finishes third, pushing the NDP to fourth.
  • 1988: Derrick Kimball, running as a Progressive Conservative, defeats New Democrat Steve Mattson by 452 votes.