Les Champions canadiens de l'avenir English

REVIVEZ LES HISTOIRES DE NOS CHAMPIONS SUR DEMANDS

Regardez toutes les émissions sur les Champions canadiens de l'avenir – des premiers profils sur les bénévoles canadiens à la grande finale – sur notre site web. Rendez-vous sur notre page vidéo.

LES GAGNANTS DE 2010: BOB ET BOBBY

Vous avez voté pour vos Champions canadiens de l'avenir 2010 : Bob Davisson et Bobby Hayes remportent chacun 25 000 $ qui seront remis à leur organisation de bienfaisance par la Financière Manuvie.

Jury

À la clôture de la période des mises en candidature le 30 septembre 2010, les dix finalistes seront sélectionnés par un jury indépendant formé de leaders dans les milieux communautaires et du bénévolat.

Une partie de leurs délibérations sera enregistrée en vue d'une diffusion ultérieure. Les candidats seront évalués en fonction d'un ensemble de critères et dix finalistes seront choisis, soit deux pour chacune des cinq catégories : un dans le volet national et l'autre dans le volet international.

Le public canadien sera invité à choisir les deux gagnants du concours, un dans chaque volet, en votant pour ses favoris parmi les dix finalistes retenus par le jury. Les finalistes de chacun des deux volets qui recevront le plus de votes seront sacrés Champions canadiens de l'avenir.

Frank O'Dea

Frank O'Dea Véritable champion du changement lui-même, Frank O'Dea présidera le comité de sélection chargé de désigner les dix grands bénévoles. « Quelle idée formidable que CBC, Manuvie et le magazine Outpost ont eue de mettre sur pied un concours pour faire connaître au grand jour la force de l'action bénévole au pays, a déclaré Frank, et je suis d'autant plus emballé de pouvoir y contribuer. » À une certaine époque de sa vie, Frank O'Dea a eu à prendre sa vie en main et depuis, il a aidé un grand nombre de personnes à transformer la leur. Aujourd'hui, Frank, qui a été décoré officier de l'Ordre du Canada, est un conférencier... | Lire la suite »


Sharon Leslie Acoose

Sharon Leslie Acoose Professeure adjointeUniversité des Premières Nations du CanadaSaskatoon (Saskatchewan)Sharon Leslie Acoose est professeure adjointe au programme de travail social auprès des Autochtones de l'Université des Premières Nations du Canada. Son travail consiste essentiellement à comprendre et à aider les femmes autochtones qui ont des démêlés avec la justice.Itinérante dès l'âge de 17 ans jusqu'au début de la trentaine, Sharon Leslie Acoose a compris qu'il ne lui restait plus longtemps à vivre si elle ne renonçait pas à la drogue, à l'alcool et à la prostitution. Aujourd'hui, 19 ans après avoir arrêté l'alcool, elle met son expérience au service des autres pour les aider à briser la spirale de la drogue et... | Lire la suite »


Nicole Boivin

Nicole  Boivin Vice-présidente principale RH et Communications, Financière Manuvie Nicole Boivin est une spécialiste accomplie du milieu des affaires. Elle a occupé des postes de direction aussi bien dans le secteur privé, que dans le milieu universitaire ou dans des organismes sans but lucratif. Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations, elle a rédigé une thèse sur le rôle des conseils d'administration au sein des organismes sans but lucratif (The Effectiveness of Not-For-Profit Boards) dans le cadre de sa maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA) qui lui a été décernée par l'Université Laurentienne. « lire la suite Originaire de Sudbury, Nicole Boivin a été très active dans les initiatives de développement économique et communautaire... | Lire la suite »


Stephen R. Bronfman

Stephen R. Bronfman CoprésidentFondation de la famille Claudine et Stephen Bronfman Montréal (Québec)Avec l'esprit d'entreprise et les valeurs qu'il a hérités de son grand-père Samuel et de son père Charles, Stephen Bronfman a su s'imposer tant à l'échelle locale que nationale et internationale. En tant que président-directeur général de Claridge Inc. depuis dix ans, il s'est toujours fié à ses goûts personnels pour prendre des décisions d'affaires, ce qui a donné des résultats fructueux avec des entreprises comme NetStar Communications Inc., TNA International Ltd., Grand Entertainment Ltd et Claridge Foods.Il y a dix ans, Stephen Bronfman a créé sa propre fondation philanthropique qu'il préside aujourd'hui avec sa conjointe, Claudine. La Fondation de la... | Lire la suite »


Heaton Dyer (animateur), CBC News

Heaton Dyer (animateur), CBC News Directeur généralCanadian Broadcasting Corporation Toronto (Canada)Heaton Dyer est directeur général de la programmation, de la stratégie et de l'innovation à CBC News. Entré à CBC en 1997, il a occupé divers postes, notamment celui de responsable des actualités et de directeur de la programmation de CBC Newsworld (l'ancien nom de CBC News Network). Heaton Dyer a 25 ans d'expérience en télévision, et il a travaillé autant dans le secteur public que dans le secteur privé. Il a été responsable des nouvelles et des actualités à TVNZ, en Nouvelle-Zélande, où il a collaboré au lancement de la version néo-zélandaise de l'émission 60 Minutes au début des années 1990 à titre de... | Lire la suite »


Fred Fox

Fred Fox Directeur des Relations avec les sympathisantsFondation Terry Fox Chilliwack (Colombie-Britannique)En tant que directeur provincial de la Fondation Terry Fox en Colombie-Britannique, Fred a été un véritable modèle d'inspiration pour les bénévoles avec lesquels il a travaillé de 1994 à 2001. Il a été le témoin privilégié du marathon entrepris par son frère, et de l'effet qu'il a eu sur la recherche contre le cancer et sur les innombrables sympathisants de la fondation. Aujourd'hui, à titre de directeur des Relations avec les sympathisants, Fred sert de lien entre la famille de Terry et la Fondation Terry Fox, et les bénévoles et donateurs répartis dans tout le pays. Fred Fox donne des... | Lire la suite »


Rob Macintosh

Rob Macintosh Partenaire principalGreen Planet CommunicationsEdmonton (Alberta) Rob Macintosh est président de Dejanira Enterprises et partenaire principal au sein de Green Planet Communications qui exploite plusieurs entreprises familiales actives et qui fournit des conseils en matière d'environnement, de développement durable des entreprises ainsi que des services de planification stratégique au secteur énergétique, aux entreprises émergentes propres et aux organismes à but non lucratif.En 1985, Rob fut le cofondateur du Pembina Institute for Appropriate Development. Comptant 55 employés et sept bureaux partout au Canada, l'institut s'intéresse aux solutions durables en matière d'énergie et joue un rôle important de chef de file en ce qui concerne les changements climatiques, les énergies renouvelables, les technologies... | Lire la suite »


Ruth MacKenzie

Ruth MacKenzie Présidente et directrice généraleBénévoles CanadaOttawa (Ontario)Active dans le milieu du bénévolat depuis plus de vingt ans, Ruth MacKenzie possède une vaste expérience de travail à la base ainsi qu'à l'échelle provinciale et nationale. Elle a été nommée présidente de Bénévoles Canada en août 2007. Après être entrée à Bénévoles Canada en 2001, Ruth MacKenzie a intégré l'équipe de direction en 2003. À titre de directrice de l'organisme, elle a dirigé la mise en œuvre de l'initiative canadienne sur le bénévolat, monté un réseau national d'organismes de bénévoles et encadré les relations avec les centres d'action bénévole et d'autres partenaires. Avant d'entrer à Bénévoles Canada, elle a été directrice de la... | Lire la suite »


Tonika Morgan

Tonika Morgan Ancienne directrice de projetWomen Moving ForwardToronto (Ontario)Tonika Morgan a beaucoup contribué pour faire bouger les choses de manière novatrice à Toronto. Sensibilisée à la cause des itinérants qu'elle a personnellement rencontrés, Tonika Morgan a littéralement changé sa vie pour mener de front son travail et ses activités de bénévolat de façon à aider les personnes défavorisées à reprendre le dessus sur leur vie. En 2005, elle a été engagée pour mettre en œuvre et améliorer le programme Women Moving Forward, un projet destiné à briser le cycle de la pauvreté dans les familles à faible revenu. Depuis 2009, elle a aidé plus de 75 jeunes mères célibataires, résidentes du tristement... | Lire la suite »


Matt Robinson (animateur), magazine Outpost

Matt Robinson (animateur), magazine Outpost Éditeur et directeur de la rédactionMagazine OutpostToronto (Ontario)À titre d'éditeur et de président d'Outpost Incorporated, Matt Robinson a pour mission de faire de son magazine une grande marque média reconnue à l'échelle nationale, active également à la télévision, sur Internet et dans le domaine événementiel. Magazine spécialisé dans les voyages, Outpost, fait la promotion du bénévolat depuis huit ans au Canada en publiant son Global Volunteer Guide et en soutenant des organismes comme CARE, Plan Canada et Médecins sans frontières.Depuis ses débuts dans l'édition il y a 17 ans, Matt Robinson a occupé pendant quatre ans le poste de directeur des ventes à Rogers Media où il a figuré parmi... | Lire la suite »


Rahul Singh

Rahul Singh Directeur généralGlobalMedicToronto (Ontario)Choisi par le magazine Time pour figurer aux palmarès des 100 personnes les plus influentes du monde et des 40 personnes de moins de 40 ans les plus influentes du Canada, Rahul Singh a consacré sa vie à aider les autres. Ambulancier à temps plein, il a fondé GlobalMedic, une entreprise dont il est également le directeur général, en mettant son expérience des services d'urgence de première ligne au service de sa passion pour l'action humanitaire. GlobaMedic a pour seul mandat de porter secours aux sinistrés à la suite d'une catastrophe.  Rahul Singh a dirigé personnellement plus de 30 missions dans le monde avec GlobalMedic. Grâce à sa... | Lire la suite »


Brett Stevenson

Brett Stevenson Ancienne directrice de la stratégie du programme africainIngénieurs sans frontièresWhitehorse (Yukon)Ingénieure de profession, Brett Stevenson travaillait dans l'industrie pétrolière et gazière lorsqu'elle a rencontré George Roter, fondateur et PDG d'Ingénieurs sans frontières Canada. Profondément séduite par le vibrant message de George Roter en faveur du changement, Brett Stevenson fait quelques mois plus tard un pari sur l'avenir en choisissant l'eau au détriment du pétrole. Elle quitte son emploi à ExxonMobil, vend sa maison et accepte une baisse de salaire de 90 % pour créer le programme sur l'eau d'Ingénieurs sans frontières au Malawi. En trois ans seulement, elle met sur pied une équipe de seize personnes et élabore un nouveau... | Lire la suite »


Margaret Trudeau

Margaret Trudeau Auteure et porte-parole en matière de santé mentaleMontréal (Québec)Née à Vancouver, au Canada, Margaret Trudeau a étudié à l'Université Simon-Fraser. Ancienne épouse de Pierre Elliott Trudeau, elle est l'auteure de Changing My Mind, ses mémoires, publiées en octobre 2010, et de deux précédents ouvrages autobiographiques, Beyond Reason (1979) et Consequences (1982). Margaret travaille aujourd'hui pour WaterCan, un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui a pour mission de fournir de l'eau potable aux gens les plus pauvres dans le monde; elle donne aussi des conférences dans tout le pays sur la santé mentale.... | Lire la suite »


Grace Wu

Grace Wu Agente de développement des ressourcesAmnesty International CanadaToronto (Ontario)Grace Wu travaille à Amnesty International pour la protection et la promotion des droits des réfugiés et des victimes de violations des droits humains dans le monde. Sa mission à Amnesty International repose sur une conviction profonde : c'est par l'action humanitaire que l'on pourra mettre fin aux abus et rendre justice dans le monde.C'est en dernière année d'université que Grace est entrée comme bénévole au programme d'Amnesty pour les réfugiés. Ses activités de bénévolat l'amènent à écouter les témoignages de nombreuses personnes déracinées, obligées de fuir la dictature, la discrimination et la torture. Elle est tellement touchée par ces réfugiés remplis d'espoir,... | Lire la suite »

Canada's Champions of Change

OUR 2010 WINNERS: BOB AND BOBBY

You voted and here are your 2010 Champions! Meet Bob Davisson and Bobby Hayes and see their stories!

RELIVE THE STORIES ON DEMAND

Watch the Champions of Change Finale and all our Champions stories here.

Judges

After the nomination period closes on September 30, 2010 the Top Ten finalists will be selected by an independent panel of community and volunteer leaders. They are the Canada's Champions of Change judges.

Part of the judges' discussion will be taped for later broadcast. They will score candidates on a multi-point report card and choose one national and one international finalist in each of the five categories.

The five national finalists and five international finalists will become the 'Top Ten' who will be put forward to the Canadian public for voting. The national and interational finalists who receive the most votes will be the winners of Canada's Champions of Change.

Chair Frank O'Dea

Chair Frank O'Dea A champion of change himself, Frank O'Dea is the chair of our selection committee, the Top Ten Panel.    "It is marvelous that CBC, Manulife and Outpost Magazine have created this opportunity to recognize the power of volunteerism in this country", says Frank, "I am very excited to be a part of it"   Frank is a man who has transformed his own life and since has helped many others transform their lives. Today, Frank is an Officer of the Order of Canada, and an inspiring speaker and author, who shares the secrets of his business success as a founder of The Second Cup and Proshred Security as well... | Read More »

Sharon Leslie Acoose

Sharon Leslie Acoose Assistant Professor First Nations University of Canada Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Sharon is an Assistant Professor in the School of Indian Social Work at the First Nations University of Canada. Much of her work surrounds understanding and helping Indian women who have been in conflict with the law. Living on the street from the age of 17 until her early 30s, Sharon realized that if she did not give up drugs, alcohol and sex work, she would not be around much longer.  Now 19-years sober, Sharon applies the experiences she's had to help others trying to break free of addiction and prostitution. Sharon has worked with young people at the Regina Friendship... | Read More »

Nicole Boivin

Nicole Boivin Senior Vice-President, HR and Communications Manulife FinancialAn accomplished business professional, Nicole has held leadership roles in the private, academic and not-for-profit sectors. Among her many accomplishments, Nicole holds an MBA from Laurentian University for which she wrote a thesis on "The Effectiveness of Not-For-Profit Boards." Originally from Sudbury, Nicole was very active in community and economic development initiatives. Early in her career, she worked as Executive Director of the Arts Council and local United Way. Nicole, who is fully bilingual, also taught marketing for not-for-profits in the French stream of the MBA program at Laurentian University.Nicole has remained an active board member for a number of not-for-profits. Since 2004, she... | Read More »

Stephen R. Bronfman

Stephen R. Bronfman Co-Chair The Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Family Foundation Montreal, Quebec Taking both the entrepreneurial spirit and values that he has inherited from his grandfather Sam and father Charles, Stephen has made his own mark locally, nationally and around the world.  As president and CEO of Claridge Inc., his business interests have reflected his personal interests over the last ten years and have included successful ventures such as NetStar Communications Inc., TNA International Ltd., Grand Entertainment Ltd and Claridge Foods. Ten years ago, Stephen founded his own philanthropic foundation which he now co-chairs with his wife: The Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Family Foundation. The Foundation supports creative and innovative projects affecting... | Read More »

Host Heaton Dyer, CBC News

Host Heaton Dyer, CBC News Executive Director Canadian Broadcasting Corporation Toronto, Canada Heaton Dyer is executive director of programming, strategy and innovation at CBC News. He has been with the CBC since 1997, in a number of different roles, including head of current affairs and director of programming for CBC Newsworld (now CBC News Network). Dyer has worked for public and private broadcasters around the world and has more than 25 years experience in television. He has served as Head of News and Current Affairs at TVNZ, New Zealand and launched TVNZ's version of 60 Minutes (as executive producer) in the early 1990s. Dyer is originally from Australia and has worked as a reporter and... | Read More »

Fred Fox

Fred Fox Manager of Supporter Relations The Terry Fox Foundation Chilliwack, British Columbia As provincial director of The Terry Fox Foundation in British Columbia, Fred worked with and inspired volunteers from 1994 to 2001. He witnessed firsthand the impact of his brother's legacy on cancer researchers and the foundation's countless supporters.  As manager of supporter relations today, Fred is responsible for relations between Terry's Family and The Terry Fox Foundation with volunteers and donors across the nation. Fred speaks at schools and community events throughout year to share his personal story about growing up with Terry and some of his memories of his brother's journey during the 1980 Marathon of Hope. Fred... | Read More »

Rob Macintosh

Rob Macintosh Senior Partner Green Planet Communications Edmonton, Alberta Rob Macintosh is President of Dejanira Enterprises and Senior Partner in Green Planet Communications - operating several active family businesses and providing environmental consulting, sustainable business development and strategic planning services to the energy sector, emerging clean tech companies, and non-profit groups. In 1985 Rob co-founded the Pembina Institute for Appropriate Development.  With 55 staff and seven offices across Canada, Pembina is focused on sustainable energy solutions and plays a leading policy role in climate change, renewable energy, clean energy technology, and environmental economics. Rob twice co-chaired the Canadian Environmental network, an organization of more than 1400 environmental groups and activist organizations.  He... | Read More »

Ruth MacKenzie

Ruth MacKenzie President and CEO Volunteer Canada Ottawa, Ontario Ruth has worked in the voluntary sector for almost 20 years and has extensive organizing experience at grassroots, provincial and national levels.  In August 2007, Ruth was named president of Volunteer Canada. Ruth first joined Volunteer Canada in 2001 and became a member of the senior management team in 2003. As director, Ruth led the implementation of the Canada Volunteerism Initiative, established a network with national voluntary organizations and provided leadership on relationships with volunteer centres and other partners. Prior to joining Volunteer Canada, Ruth worked at the Canadian Cancer Society's Ontario division and later with the Nova Scotia division as director of... | Read More »

Tonika Morgan

Tonika Morgan Former Project Director Women Moving Forward Toronto, Ontario Tonika Morgan is an innovative change-maker from Toronto. Driven by her personal encounters with homelessness, Tonika has transformed her life to empower the lives of others through her day-to-day work and her volunteer activities. In 2005, Tonika was hired to refine and implement Women Moving Forward, an initiative designed to break the cycle of poverty in low-income families. Until 2009, Tonika helped more than 75 young, single mothers in the notorious Jane and Finch community move from welfare to college and university in one year. The experience has since pushed Tonika to increase her efforts in challenging systems that create barriers for... | Read More »

Host Matt Robinson, Outpost Magazine

Host Matt Robinson, Outpost Magazine Publisher and Editorial Director Outpost Magazine Toronto, Ontario Matt Robinson is publisher and president of Outpost Incorporated. He's responsible for developing Outpost into a national award winning media brand with online, television and event properties. An international travel magazine, Outpost has been promoting Canadian volunteerism for eight years with its "Global Volunteer Guide" and through its support of organizations like CARE, Plan Canada, and Médecins Sans Frontières. Matt's 17 years in publishing include four years with Rogers Media as a senior sales executive where he received distinction as business publishing division's Top Salesmen of the Year. He currently sits on the Book & Magazine Publishing Program Advisory Committee at Centennial... | Read More »

Rahul Singh

Rahul Singh Executive Director GlobalMedic Toronto, Ontario A recipient of Time's 100 Most Influential People in the World and Canada's Top 40 Under 40, Singh dedicates his life to helping others.  A fulltime paramedic and the founder and executive director of GlobalMedic, Singh combined his passion for humanitarianism with a frontline, emergency perspective when he created GlobalMedic's unique mandate of disaster relief in the immediate aftermath of catastrophe.  Rahul has personally led over 30 GlobalMedic missions around the world.  His tireless efforts have resulted in a globally recognized, innovative and efficient organization.  Whether it is an earthquake in Haiti or Pakistan, flooding in Bangladesh and Indonesia or capacity building in Sudan and... | Read More »

Brett Stevenson

Brett Stevenson Former Director of African Program Strategy Engineers Without Borders Whitehorse, Yukon Brett is a professional engineer. While working as an engineer in the oil and gas industry she met George Roter, a founder and CEO of Engineers Without Borders Canada. He delivered a passionate message for change that deeply resonated with Brett. A few months later, Brett took a leap of faith and chose water wells over oil wells. She packed up her office at ExxonMobil, sold her house and took a 90 per cent salary cut to create EWB's water program in Malawi. In three short years, she grew her team to 16 people and built an innovative new... | Read More »

Margaret Trudeau

Margaret Trudeau Author and Mental Health Advocate Montreal, Quebec Born in Vancouver, Canada, Margaret Trudeau attended Simon Fraser University. The former wife of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, she is the author of Changing My Mind, her memoir, publishing in October 2010, and two previous memoirs, Beyond Reason (1979) and Consequences (1982). Margaret now works with WaterCan, a registered charity dedicated to providing clean drinking water to the world's poorest people, and speaks across the country on mental health issues.... | Read More »

Grace Wu

Grace Wu Resource Development Officer Amnesty International Canada Toronto, Ontario Grace Wu works at Amnesty International advocating for the protection and promotion of refugee rights and of individuals who face grave human rights violations around the world. Her work at Amnesty is rooted in the belief that the power of individuals working on behalf of others is the only way we can end human rights abuses and uphold justice. Grace began volunteering with Amnesty's refugee program in her last year of university. Through her volunteer work serving refugees, she listened to the countless stories of individuals who had to uproot their lives and flee unaccountable power, prejudice, and torture. She was thoroughly... | Read More »


SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: JUDGES' CHOICE AWARD

After the nomination period closed on September 30, 2010 the Top Ten finalists were selected by an independent panel of community and volunteer leaders. They are the Champions of Change judges. A special 11th award was created during the judges' deliberations, learn about the award here.

The five national finalists and five international finalists are the Top Ten. These finalists are now up for public vote—the two finalists (one International, and one Canadian) with the most votes are the winners. They receive $ 25,000 each for the registered charity of their choice. The recipient of the special judges' award will not be included in public vote.