HomeRadioTelevisionLocalShop Become a member Sign in
CBC News Federal Election
 DISTRICT: Churchill
Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Bev Desjarlais NDP 8612 43.44% X
Ron Evans LIB 7604 38.35%
Bill Archer CON 2999 15.13%
C. David Nickarz GRN 612 3.1%
 Last Update:  June 29, 5:38:55 AM EDT 149 of 149 polls reporting


216 Churchill

2004 Candidates

CON: Bill Archer
NDP: Bev Desjarlais (Incumbent)
LIB: Ron Evans
GRN: C. David Nickarz

Riding Profile

 Riding Map
The riding covers northern Manitoba and is one of geographically largest in Canada. It is bounded by the N.W.T. in the north and Hudson Bay and Ontario in the east and Saskatchewan in the west. It includes Churchill, Flin Flon, Thompson, The Pas and the Port of Churchill.

Mining is the economic mainstay in this riding, followed by health & social services and educational services.

According to the 2001 census, the Aboriginal population is 53 per cent – the second highest in Canada.

The average family income is $48,465 with an unemployment rate of 16.10 per cent. Almost 62 per cent of the population speaks English as a mother tongue, and 21 per cent speak Cree. Just over 10 per cent of the population have less than a Grade 9 education and almost five per cent have a university degree.

There was no change in the 1976 redistribution. In 1996, it kept 100 per cent and added six per cent from Provencher and one per cent of Selkirk-Red River. In 2004, the riding kept 95 per cent (population=73,428) of its population.

Political History
PC Robert Simpson won in 1957, 1958, 1962, 1963, 1965 and 1968. PC Keith Taylor won in 1972. PC Cecil Smith was elected in 1974. In 1979, ND Rod Murphy defeated PC Cecil Smith by 4,742 votes. He was re-elected in 1980, 1984 and 1988. In 1993, LIB Elijah Harper defeated ND Rod Murphy by 907 votes. Harper had been a ND MLA in Manitoba from 1981 until Nov. 27, 1992. In 1997, ND Bev Desjarlais defeated LIB Elijah Harper by 2,764 votes. In 2000, ND Desjarlais again defeated LIB Harper, this time by 2,963 votes.

1935, 1940 - LIB
1945 - CCF
1949, 1953 - LIB
1957-1974 - PC
1979-1988 - NDP
1993 - LIB
1997, 2000 - NDP

Candidate Profiles

Ron Evans

Party: Liberal Party of Canada
Birth Date: 1957
Birthplace: Norway House, Man.

Career Background: He is an ordained minister of the Anglican Church and a member of the Diocesan Council of the Diocese of Keewatin. He was a band councillor at Norway House for eight years. Served a two-year term as acting chief. Three-term chief of the Norway House Cree Nation. As chief, he sits on the executive committee with the Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak (MKO) and the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC). He is co-chair of the AMC's health committee and has the MKO health portfolio. He is also a member of the Norway House Fisherman's Co-op and has held a commercial fisherman's license for eight years. He has been invited to be a member of the Premier's Manitoba Round Table on Sustainable Development and is also on Manitoba's Millennium advisory Council. He was appointed to the National Chief's Steering Committee on Non-Insured Health Benefits.
Marital Status: Married
Name of Spouse: Betsy
Children: two sons, one daughter

Political History
Provincial: Was defeated as a PC in The Pas in 1999.

Bill Archer

Party: Conservative Party of Canada

Profession: Lawyer
Career Background: Partner with Archer & Phillips Law Office. He has been a member of the Thompson Rotary Club for two years.
Marital Status: Married
Name of Spouse: Beverley
Children: three

Political History
Party: Volunteered as a campaign worker for Cecil Thorne, PC candidate for Thompson, in the 1999 election.
Provincial: Defeated as a PC in Thompson in 2003.

Bev Desjarlais

Party: New Democratic Party of Canada
Birth Date: Aug. 15, 1951
Age: 52
Birthplace: Saskatchewan

Career Background: Employed at Thompson General Hospital in a variety of positions for 23 years. Active with the United Food and Commercial Workers Union, served as union steward for Health and Safety, and was involved with the negotiating committee. Was also a member of the Thompson Labour Committee, representing hospital workers. Has been elected to various positions, including the Juniper Centre Board of Directors, the Thompson Food Co-op Board of Directors and the Thompson Children's World Daycare Board of Directors. Currently is a member of Canadian Parents for French (Thompson Chapter) and the Thompson Minor Hockey Association. Also active in the National Scouting Movement for Thompson Beavers and Cubs.
Marital Status: Married
Name of Spouse: Robert
Children: three sons

Political History
Party: Member of Thompson NDP Association, holding position of treasurer and provincial council representative.
Municipal: Elected Trustee with school district of Mystery Lake in 1992 and was its chair in 1994.
Federal: Elected in Churchill in 1997 and 2000.

Political History (Federal/Provincial)
Committee: Former Member: Industry, Science and Technology; Transport and Government Operations; Subcommittee on Marine Transportation of Transport Committee. Member: Transport Committee.
Caucus: Former Critic for: Infrastructure; Housing; Industry; Consumer Affairs; Science, Research and Development Critic for: Transport; Seniors; Treasury Board. Appointed Interim Health critic in April 2004 (while Svend Robinson is on medical leave).
Office Address: 105-55 Selkirk Avenue, Thompson, Man.
Tel: (204) 677-1333
Capital Address: Room 700 Justice Building, House of Commons, Ottawa, Ont.
Tel: (613) 992-3018

C. David Nickarz

Party: Green Party of Canada

Career Background: Has been an environmental activist for the past 13 years. In 1992, he joined a group of animal activists who tried unsuccessfully to stop the capture of four Beluga whales (destined for zoos or circuses), in Churchill, Man. In September 1993, he was arrested at a logging blockade trying to protect the ancient temperate rainforests of Clayoquot Sound, B.C. He was fined $1,500 for criminal contempt of a B.C. Supreme Court order. Later that year the Green Party of Canada paid his fine.
Political History
Provincial: Defeated in Concordia in 1999.
Federal: Defeated in Winnipeg-Transcona in 2000.


# #
 Overall Election Results (2004)
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
LIB 135 0 135 36.71%
CON 99 0 99 29.61%
BQ 54 0 54 12.40%
NDP 19 0 19 15.69%
NA 1 0 1 .13%
OTH 0 0 0 5.47%
 Last Update June 29, 5:39:26 AM EDT


Riding Profiles

Select a province or territory.

Today's Features

Cartoon Gallery  Cartoon Gallery
more »

Changing Partners

 The story of changing party affiliations.
more »
Jobs | Contact Us | Help
Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2004