HomeRadioTelevisionLocalShop Become a member Sign in
CBC News Federal Election
 DISTRICT: Argenteuil-Mirabel
Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Mario Laframboise BQ 28228 57.4% X
Yves Sabourin LIB 13214 26.89%
David H. McArthur CON 346 7.03%
Claude Sabourin GRN 2510 5.11%
Elisabeth Clark NDP 1493 3.04%
Laurent Filion CHP 202 0.41%
Michael O'Grady ML 69 0.14%
 Last Update:  June 29, 5:38:24 AM EDT 248 of 248 polls reporting


2004 Candidates

NDP: Elisabeth Clark
CHP: Laurent Filion
BQ: Mario Laframboise (Incumbent)
CON: David McArthur
MLP: Michael O'Grady
GRN: Claude Sabourin
LIB: Yves Sabourin

036 Argenteuil-Mirabel

Riding Profile
 Riding Map
This is a mainly rural riding in southwest Quebec that runs along the Ottawa River. The riding contains the City of Mirabel, the regional county municipalities of Argenteuil and Papineau and part of Deux-Montagnes and Les Pays-d'en-Haut. The communities of Oka, Pointe-Calumet, St-Joseph-du-Lac and St-Placide, Lac-des-Seize-Iles, Morin Heights, St-Adolphe-d'Howard and Wentworth-Nord and the Kanesatake Indian Lands fall in the riding.

Manufacturing is the major industry with other employment in the service sector, agriculture and tourism. The average family income is $51,883 and unemployment is 7.1 per cent.

Over 87 per cent of the population cited French as their mother tongue, and almost nine per cent spoke English. The total immigrant population is under three per cent. Almost 14 per cent of the population have less than a Grade 9 education.

In 2004, the riding was named Argenteuil-Mirabel. The riding of Argenteuil existed from 1867 to 1947 and was re-established in 1976 from 71 per cent of Argenteuil-Deux Montagnes and 20 per cent of Gatineau. The name changed to Argenteuil-Papineau in 1981. The 1996 redistribution added a part of Gatineau-La-Lièvre.

Population: 98,467

Political History
In 2000, Bloc Québécois candidate Mario Laframboise defeated Progressive Conservative Lise Bourgault by 542 votes. It was the third win for the BQ in this riding, the first for Laframboise. In 1993, the BQ's Maurice Dumas defeated Liberal Jacques Desforges and in 1997, he won a second term, defeating Stephane Hébert. Bourgault had held this riding for two terms for the PCs, winning in 1984 and 1988.

Argenteuil-Deux Montagnes voted Liberal from 1949-1980 except for PC wins in 1958 and 1965. Liberal Robert Major was elected in 1968 in Argenteuil. Liberal Francis Fox was elected in this riding in 1972 and 1974 and later went on to win two terms in Blainville-Deux-Montagnes. He was Solicitor General, Minister of Communications and Minister for International Trade. Liberal Robert Gourd won in 1979 and 1980, but was defeated in 1984.

1979, 1980 - LIB
1984, 1988 - PC
1993, l997, 2000 - BQ


Candidate Profiles

Yves Sabourin

Party: Liberal Party of Canada
Birth Date: July 21, 1955
Age: 48
Birthplace: Lachute, Que.

University Degree: Yes
Education: Bachelor's degree in law in 1977; qualified as a notary in 1978.
Career Background: An associate notary with firm Hénault, Sabourin et Bédard.
Community Involvement:
He is president of the Lachute Lions Club, president of the Lachute-Saint André Optimist Club, and president of the local chapter of the Canadian Red Cross. He is also involved with agencies providing health care. He is president of the Foundation for the Argenteuil Hospital, member of the health and social services board (Laurentides) and member of a board assisting people who are intellectually challenged (Laurentides). For five years, he was president of the CAPAR workshop, helping people who are intellectually challenged. For a number of years, he has been active with various socio-economic agencies in the riding. He was president of the Lachute Chamber of Commerce, a board member of the Lachute Caisse populaire, and spokesperson for Lachute and Mirabel on the issue of Highway 50. He also contributes to the sporting and cultural life of Argenteuil-Papineau.
Marital Status: Partner
Name of Spouse: Lise Proulx

Political History
Party: President of the Liberal Association of Argenteuil-Papineau-Mirabel. He was also the constituency representative designated by Paul Martin during the 2003 leadership race.

Mario Laframboise

Party: Bloc Québécois
Birth Date: Nov. 7, 1957
Age: 46
Birthplace: Notre Dame-de-la-Paix

University Degree: Yes
Education: Diploma of notarial law, University of Quebec in Montreal. Studied human sciences, Collège Marie-Victorin. Law studies, Faculty of Law at the University of Montreal
Community Involvement:
Since 1990 — Co-president, Comité de défense des autoroutes 13 et 50.
Member: la Table des décideurs pour le Sommet sur la forêt privée (1996), Sommet sur la politique de la culture (1998), le Forum sur l agriculture (1999), Sommet de la Jeunesse du gouvernement du Québec (2000).
1996 — Member, Chantier Municipalités-régions, Sommet socio-économique du gouvernement du Québec Since
1999 — President, Chantier Idée Emploi de la M.R.C. de Papineau.
Municipal Involvement:
1988-00 — Member, board of directors, Union of Québec Municipalities
1993-95 — Treasurer, Union of Qu´┐Żbec Municipalities
1995-97 — First vice-president, Union of Quebec Municipalities
1997-00 — President, Union of Quebec Municipalities
1991 — President, Outaouais Regional Development Council.
1991-00 — Active Member, la Table Québec-Municipalités
1996-00 — Active Member, la Table Québec-Régions
1999 — Negotiator of fiscal arrangements agreement between the government of Quebec and the municipalities.

Political History
Municipal: Mayor of Notre-Dame-de-la-Paix, 1983-2000 Prefect, Regional Municipality of Papineau county, 1987-2000
Federal: Elected in Argenteuil-Papineau-Mirabel in 2000

Political History (Federal/Provincial)
Committee: Former Member: Transport and Government Operations. Member: Transport.
Office Address:
505, rue Béthanie
bureau #408
Lachute, Que.
(450) 562-0737
Capital Address:
Room 332 West Block
House of Commons
Ottawa Ont.
(613) 992-0902

David McArthur

Party: Conservative Party of Canada

Elisabeth Clark

Party: New Democratic Party of Canada

Political History
Federal: Defeated in Rimouski-Mitis in 1997; in Beauharnois-Salaberry in 2000.

Claude Sabourin

Party: The Green Party of Canada
Birth Date: Oct. 9, 1961
Age: 42

University Degree: Yes
Education: BA political science — UQAM training as a financial counsellor.
Career Background: Independent operator in distribution of animal feed: Nutrizoo.

Political History
Provincial: Defeated in Argenteuil in 2003.

Political History (Federal/Provincial)
Office Address:
(450) 562-1956

Michael O'Grady

Party: The Marxist-Leninist Party

Laurent Filion

Party: The Christian Heritage Party


# #
 Overall Election Results (2004)
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
LIB 135 0 135 36.71%
CON 99 0 99 29.61%
BQ 54 0 54 12.40%
NDP 19 0 19 15.69%
NA 1 0 1 .13%
OTH 0 0 0 5.47%
 Last Update June 29, 5:39:26 AM EDT


Riding Profiles

Select a province or territory.

Today's Features

Cartoon Gallery  Cartoon Gallery
more »

Changing Partners

 The story of changing party affiliations.
more »
Jobs | Contact Us | Help
Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2004