Results, Districts & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: Jun. 9, 2009 10:11 PM ADT 33/33 polls
LIB Michel P. Samson 3,228 Elected
NDP Clair Rankin 1,477
PC John Greene 1,045
GRN John Percy 86

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia.

View these results in the interactive map ยป


John Greene PC
John Percy GRN
Clair Rankin NDP
Michel Samson LIB


Current MLA: Michel Samson (LIB)

District profile: Another of Cape Breton's rural districts, Richmond starts at the heavily industrialized community of Point Tupper and continues up the Atlantic coast.

Outside the industrialized area of Point Tupper, the main occupations in this district are fisheries, forestry and tourism. Richmond County includes the Chapel Island Reserve and the communities of St. Peter's and Arichat.

There is a large francophone component to this riding (25 per cent) because it includes the Acadian island of Isle Madame.

District map: Richmond (PDF)

Acrobat Reader required - download free. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.