Results, Districts & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: Jun. 9, 2009 10:11 PM ADT 29/29 polls
LIB Keith Colwell 1,908 Elected
NDP Janet Sutcliffe 1,316
PC Dwayne Provo 1,240
GRN Sarah Densmore 57

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia.

View these results in the interactive map »


Keith Colwell LIB
Sarah Densmore GRN
Dwayne Provo PC
Janet Sutcliffe NDP


Current MLA: Keith Colwell (LIB)

District profile: This district, which takes in areas of suburban affluence and rural poverty, was created in 1993 to give black Nova Scotians a better chance of representation in the legislature. It was created from parts of Halifax Eastern Shore and the Cole Harbour area of Dartmouth.

About one third of the district's residents are black. It includes historically important black communities at North Preston, East Preston and Cherrybrook.

Many people in this riding work in Metro Halifax in the trade and service sectors.

District map: Preston (PDF)

Acrobat Reader required - download free. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.