Results, Districts & Candidates

Halifax Clayton Park

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: Jun. 9, 2009 10:11 PM ADT 63/63 polls
LIB Diana Whalen 5,030 Elected
NDP Linda Power 3,924
PC Debbie Hum 1,084
GRN Amanda Hester 172
IND Jonathan Dean 51

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia.

View these results in the interactive map ยป


Jonathan Dean IND
Amanda Hester GRN
Debbie Hum PC
Linda Power NDP
Diane Whelan LIB


Current MLA: Diana Whalen (LIB)

District profile: Created in 2003, Halifax Clayton Park was formed from about 75 per cent of the former Halifax-Bedford Basin. It's home to Mount St. Vincent University and some big-box stores.

New subdivisions, a library and an indoor soccer facility have been built here since the last provincial election.

The riding is primarily residential, containing new single-family homes and high-density apartment complexes favoured by people moving into the city for the first time.

Clayton Park is one of the fastest growing and ethnically diverse districts in the province. More than two dozen cultures are represented at the Halifax West high school.

District map: Halifax Clayton Park (PDF)

Acrobat Reader required - download free. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.