Results, Districts & Candidates

Cumberland South

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: Jun. 9, 2009 10:11 PM ADT 42/42 polls
PC Murray Scott 4,353 Elected
NDP Don Tabor 1,641
LIB Joey Archibald 325
GRN Daniel Melvin 88

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia.

View these results in the interactive map ยป


Joey Archibald LIB
Daniel Melvin GRN
Murray Scott PC
Don Tabor NDP


Current MLA: Murray Scott (PC), Minister of Economic and Rural Development

District profile: The largely rural district includes the southern part of Cumberland County as well as the towns of Oxford, Springhill and Parrsboro. It's also home to the only toll highway in the province.

The major employers are the hospitals and school boards along with some manufacturers.

The area is also building a reputation as a tourism destination thanks to the Anne Murray Centre and the Joggins Fossil Cliffs, which has been designated as a UNESCO world heritage site.

District map: Cumberland South (PDF)

Acrobat Reader required - download free. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.