Results, Districts & Candidates

Cape Breton North

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: Jun. 9, 2009 10:11 PM ADT 50/50 polls
PC Cecil Clarke 3,476 Elected
NDP Russell MacDonald 3,312
LIB Ken Jardine 891
GRN Chris Milburn 100

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia.

View these results in the interactive map ยป


Cecil Clarke PC
Ken Jardine LIB
Russell MacDonald NDP
Chris Milburn GRN


Current MLA: Cecil Clarke (PC), Attorney General and Justice Minister, House Leader

District profile: Cape Breton North is an urban riding, taking in the former towns of North Sydney and Sydney Mines.

The main industries are fishing, tourism and the service sector. Until 2001, this riding was home to the island's last underground coal mine.

District map: Cape Breton North (PDF)

Acrobat Reader required - download free. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.