Results, Districts & Candidates

Cape Breton Centre

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: Jun. 9, 2009 10:11 PM ADT 40/40 polls
NDP Frank Corbett 5,258 Elected
LIB Joe MacPherson 797
PC Chris Ryan 507
GRN Chris Alders 102

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Nova Scotia.

View these results in the interactive map »


Chris Alders GRN
Frank Corbett NDP
Joe McPherson LIB
Chris Ryan PC


Current MLA: Frank Corbett (NDP)

District profile: This district includes the town of New Waterford, as well as Reserve Mines and a part of the town of Dominion.

It's an area with a rich mining history – but the last coal mine in the riding, Phelan, closed in 1999. Many of the people living in this riding are former coal miners.

District map: Cape Breton Centre (PDF)

Acrobat Reader required - download free. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.