Results, Ridings & Candidates

West Vancouver-Sea to Sky

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 112/112 polls
LIB Joan McIntyre 9,512 Elected
NDP Juliana Buitenhuis 4,001
GRN Jim Stephenson 3,862

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,708 votes | 45.20%

9,344 votes | 54.80%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

112/112 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding runs north from the border with Richmond to Birkenhead Falls Provincial Park in NE and Upper Lillooet Park in NW; small area from West Vancouver is in SE corner.
  • Garibaldi Estates and Garibaldi Highlands are in the riding as are communities along Highway 99 which extends north through the central part of riding including Lion's Bay, Squamish, Whistler and Pemberton.
  • Riding has many native reserves including Cheakamus IR11 and Mount Currie IRs 1, 2, 6, 8 and 10; the aboriginal population was 5.4% in 2006 census.
  • Whistler and Blackcomb attract all year-round tourism.
  • In the 2006 census, the riding had the 2nd highest average family income in BC; 27% had university degrees.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from part of West Vancouver-Howe Sound.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept all existing riding and added small area from Mission-Kent.
  • In 2008 redistribution, riding became West Vancouver-Sea to Sky keeping 87% West Van-Garibaldi.

Political History

  • West Vancouver-Garibaldi/West Vancouver-Sea to Sky: In 1991, Liberal David Mitchell defeated New Democrat Brian Giles by 6,676 votes.
  • Mitchell was an independent at the time of 1996 election; did not run.
  • In 1996, Liberal Ted Nebbeling defeated New Democrat Brenda Broughton by 6,038 votes.
  • In 2001, Nebbeling defeated Green candidate Peter Tatroff by 10,851 votes; served as Minister of State for Community Charter and Minister responsible for 2010 Olympic Bid between June 5, 2001 and January 26, 2004.
  • In 2005, Liberal Joan McIntyre defeated Green candidate Dennis Perry by 5,573 votes; on June 23, 2008 was appointed Minister of State for Intergovernmental Relations.