Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 176/183 polls
LIB Eric Bailey Foster 8,495 Elected
NDP Mark Steven Olsen 7,137
GRN Huguette Marie Allen 3,679
CON Dean Skoreyko 1,841
NA Gordon Campbell 1,306
BCR RJ Busch 72

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





9,158 votes | 41.91%

12,695 votes | 58.09%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

176/183 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • One of the Okanagan ridings in the Southern Interior of B.C., in the North Okanagan Regional District, it runs south to the Kootenay Boundary Regional District and the Central Okanagan Regional District.
  • It includes Monashee Mountains/Monashee Provincial Park in NW with Vernon, the main community, Coldstream, Lumby in the west.
  • Aboriginal population was 5.3% in 2006 census.


  • Okanagan-Vernon was created in 1989 redistribution from part of Okanagan North.
  • In 2000 redistribution, gained areas from Shuswap, Okanagan South and Okanagan East.
  • In 2008 redistribution, Okanagan-Vernon became Vernon-Monashee keeping 96% of riding.

Political History

  • Okanagan North: in 1983, Social Credit Don Campbell defeated New Democrat Lyle MacWilliam by 3,267 votes.
  • MacWilliam won Nov. 8, 1984 by-election after death of Campbell.
  • In 1986, Social Credit Lyall Hanson defeated MacWilliam by 396 votes.
  • Okanagan-Vernon/Vernon-Monashee: In 1991, Hanson, the incumbent in Okanagan North, defeated New Democrat Gilles De Chantal by 895 votes.
  • In 1996, Liberal April Sanders defeated New Democrat Howard Brown by 2,279 votes.
  • In 2001, Liberal Tom Christensen defeated New Democrat Troy Sebastian by 10,339 votes; appointed Minister of Education, Jan. 26, 2004.
  • In 2005, Christensen defeated New Democrat Juliette Marie Cunningham by 2,571 votes; on June 16, 2005 appointed Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation; on August 15, 2006 appointed Minister of Children and Family Development; announced in January 2009 that he wouldn't be running again.