Results, Ridings & Candidates

Vancouver-West End

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 154/154 polls
NDP Spencer Herbert 9,302 Elected
LIB Laura McDiarmid 5,375
GRN Drina Read 1,442
LTN John Clarke 180
SEX Scarlett Lake 84
NA Menard D. Caissy 33

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,532 votes | 47.00%

8,492 votes | 53.00%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

154/154 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding takes in NW corner of Vancouver, including Stanley Park.
  • It is bounded by Stanley Park/Jervis Street/Georgia Street/Burrard Street to English Bay.
  • In 2006 census, the immigrant population was 35%; the visible minority population was 30%.
  • Rented exceeded owned dwellings, 79% to 21%.


  • Riding created in 2008 redistribution from 61% of Vancouver-Burrard.

Political History

  • Vancouver-Burrard: New in 1991; in 1991, New Democrat Emery Barnes, incumbent from Vancouver Centre, defeated Liberal Steven Bourne.
  • In 1996, New Democrat Tim Stevenson defeated Liberal Duncan Wilson by 2,671 votes; appointed Minister of Employment and Immigration on Nov. 1, 2000.
  • In 2001, Liberal Lorne Mayencourt defeated Stevenson by 4,037 votes.
  • In 2005, Mayencourt again defeated Stevenson, this time by 11 votes; Mayencourt resigned to run as a Conservative in the 2008 federal election.
  • In the Oct. 29, 2008 by-election, New Democrat Spencer Herbert defeated Liberal Arthur Griffiths by 1,909 votes.