Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 129/130 polls
LIB Colin Hansen 14,920 Elected
NDP James Young 4,456
GRN Laura-Leah Shaw 1,840

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,482 votes | 36.64%

12,940 votes | 63.36%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

127/130 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding, which takes in area in SW part of Vancouver, runs from West 16th Avenue in the north to the Fraser River in south; from Granville Street/West 57th Avenue/West Boulevard/Angus Drive in the east to the eastern boundary of Pacific Spirit Regional Park in the west.
  • Musqueam IR2 makes up SW corner of riding.
  • Riding includes Dunbar-Southlands, Kerrisdale and Arbutus Ridge as well as Deering Island.
  • In the 2006 census, riding had highest average family income in the province; 47% had university degrees which is the 2nd highest in B.C..
  • The visible minority population was 40%; 31% Chinese.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from part of Vancouver-Point Grey.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept 100% of riding; added area from Vancouver-Langara.
  • No change in 2008 redistribution.

Political History

  • Vancouver-Quilchena: in 1991, Liberal Art Cowie defeated New Democrat Stuart Hertzog by 5,201 votes; Cowie resigned on Nov. 9, 1993 and by-election was called for Feb. 17, 1994.
  • In Feb. 17, 1994 by-election, Liberal Gordon Campbell defeated Social Credit Sonja Weissenbacher by 5,860 votes; Campbell ran in Vancouver-Point Grey in 1996.
  • In 1996, Liberal Colin Hansen defeated New Democrat Roger Boshier by 10,532 votes.
  • In 2001, Hansen defeated Green Judy Johnstone by 13,552 votes; appointed Minister of Health Services on June 5, 2001; appointed Minister of Finance on Dec. 15, 2004.
  • In 2005, Hansen defeated New Democrat Jarrah Hodge by 11,263 votes; on June 16, 2005 appointed Minister of Economic Development and Minister responsible for Asia-Pacific Initiative and the Olympics; on June 23, 2008 reappointed Minister of Finance and Minister resposnible for the Olympics.