Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 116/116 polls
NDP Mable Elmore 9,287 Elected
LIB Syrus Lee 7,210
GRN Doug Warkentin 1,209

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,446 votes | 45.86%

8,790 votes | 54.14%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

113/116 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding, which takes in area in the central part of Vancouver, runs from East 16th Avenue/Kingsway in the north to East 49th Avenue in the south; from Main Street in the west to Nanaimo Street in the east.
  • Older area, most houses built before the 1950s.
  • In the 2006 census, the immigrant population was 56%; 32% gave Chinese as mother tongue.
  • The visible minority population was 70.5%; 37% Chinese; 12% Filipino; 10% South Asian.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from parts of Vancouver-Little Mountain and Vancouver South.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept majority of the riding and added small area from Vancouver-Little Mountain.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 97% of riding; added 3% Vancouver-Fraserview.

Political History

  • Vancouver-Kensington: New Democrat Ujjal Dosanjh won in 1991 and 1996 by 1,888 votes; served as Minister of Government Services; Attorney-General, Minister responsible for Multiculturalism, Human Rights and Immigration; Premier and President of Executive Council between February 24, 2000 and 2001.
  • In 2001, Liberal Patrick Wong defeated Dosanjh by 1,684 votes; served as Minister of State for Immigration and Multicultural Services between September 2004 and June 2005.
  • In 2005, New Democrat David Chudnovsky defeated Wong by 1,624 votes.
  • Announced in August 2008 that he wouldn't be running again.