Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 133/133 polls
NDP Shane Simpson 10,091 Elected
LIB Haida Lane 6,019
GRN Ryan Daniel Conroy 1,842
WLP Chris Telford 180
SEX Dietrich Pajonk 89
PF Donna Petersen 67

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





8,210 votes | 47.36%

9,127 votes | 52.64%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

133/133 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding takes in NE corner of Vancouver
  • It runs between Burrard Inlet in the north and Grandview Highway in the south; between Commerical Drive/Powell Street/Victoria Drive in the west and the Vancouver/Burnaby border in the east.
  • Residential district of bungalows on small lots and scattered strips of low rise apartments and condos.
  • Working class area with a mix of ethnic minorities; Exhibition Park is in NE.
  • In the 2006 census, the immigrant population was 45%; the visible minority population was 53.6% of which 37% was Chinese.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from part of Vancouver East.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of the riding; added area from Vancouver-Mount Pleasant.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept all of the riding; added 1% Vancouver-Kingsway.

Political History

  • Vancouver-Hastings: New Democrat Joy MacPhail won in 1991 and 1995; served as Minister of Social Services; Government House Leader; Minister of Health and Minister responsible for Seniors; Minister of Finance and Corporate Relations; Minister of Labour; Minister of Education and Deputy Premier.
  • In 2001, MacPhail defeated Liberal Daniel Lee by 409 votes.
  • Took over as NDP Leader on June 16, 2001; on June 3, 2003 she announced she was stepping down as leader.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Shane Simpson defeated Liberal Laura McDiarmid by 4,816 votes.