Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 118/118 polls
NDP Jagrup Brar 8,543 Elected
LIB Jagmohan Singh 6,687
GRN Christin Geall 1,084
CON Chamkaur (Cory) Sandhu 807

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





5,339 votes | 32.10%

11,294 votes | 67.90%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

115/115 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding takes in area in the north-central part of Surrey.
  • It runs between 72nd Avenue in the south and 100th Avenue in the north; between 148th Street/92nd Avenue/144th Street/Bear Creek/80th Avenue/152nd Street in the west and 156th Street/96th Avenue/160th Street/88th Avenue/164th Street/Highway 1A/168th Street/80th Avenue/176th Street in the east.
  • In the 2006 census, the immigrant population was 43%; 17% of which gave Punjabi as mother tongue.
  • The visible minority population was 54.7%: 26.5% of which was South Asian.


  • Riding created in 2008 redistribution from: 45% Surrey-Tynehead; 18% Surrey-Green Timbers;16% Surrey-Newton and 1% Surrey-Cloverdale.

Political History

  • Surrey-Tynehead (new in 2001): In 2001, Liberal Dave Hayer defeated New Democrat Barry Bell by 9,093 votes.
  • In 2005, Hayer again defeated Bell, this time by 2,583 votes.