Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 138/138 polls
LIB Kevin Falcon 13,166 Elected
NDP Deborah Payment 6,227
GRN Kevin Purton 1,587

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





6,349 votes | 30.72%

14,317 votes | 69.28%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

138/138 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding takes in east-central and SE part of Surrey as well as Cloverdale.
  • It runs from 72nd Avenue/176th Street/80th Avenue in north to the U.S. border in the south; from the border line between Langley and Surrey in the east and Highway 99/152nd Street/Highway 10/156th Street/64th Avenue/152nd Street in the west.
  • In the 2006 census, the immigrant population was 20%; visible minorities made up 18% of the population.


  • Created in 1989 redistribution from parts of Surrey-White Rock-Cloverdale, Surrey-Guildford-Whalley and Surrey-Newton.
  • Before 1991 election, Surrey-White-Cloverdale became Surrey-Cloverdale.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of riding; added area from Surrey-White Rock as well as small areas from Langley and Surrey-Newton.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 80% of riding; added small area from Surrey-Tynehead.

Political History

  • Surrey-Cloverdale: Social Credit Bill Reid won in 1986; served as Minister of Tourism, Recreation and Culture; Minister of Tourism and Provincial Secretary.
  • In 1991, Liberal Ken Jones defeated New Democrat Charan Gill by 1,751 votes.
  • In 1996, Liberal Bonnie McKinnon defeated Gill by 5,466 votes.
  • McKinnon was later challenged for nomination; but didn't show up at nomination meeting; she then sat as an independent.
  • In 2001, Liberal Kevin Falcon defeated New Democrat Steve Oakley by 11,406 votes; appointed Minister of State for Deregulation, on June 5, 2001; appointed Minister of Transportation on January 26, 2004.
  • In 2005, Falcon defeated New Democrat Ted Allen by 8,789 votes; on Jun 16, 2005 he was reappointed Minister of Transportation.