Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 81/81 polls
NDP Robin Austin 5,594 Elected
LIB Donny van Dyk 4,153
CON Mike Brousseau 860
GRN Anita Norman 450

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





3,694 votes | 35.78%

6,631 votes | 64.22%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

77/81 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding in northwestern part of B.C., borders Alaska in NW, has Terrace as its main centre.
  • Aiyansh, now in NW part of riding, is home of Nisga'a nation.
  • The District of Kitimat, with its aluminum smelter, is in the southern part of the riding.
  • In the 2006 census the aboriginal population was 23%; the fourth highest in province.
  • Manufacturing was the main industry.


  • No change in 2000 redistribution.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 96% of riding; added 8% North Coast.

Political History

  • Skeena: New Democrat Frank Howard won in 1979 and 1983.
  • In 1986, Social Credit David Parker defeated Howard by 1,158 votes; served as Minister of Forests and Lands; Minister of Crown Lands; Minister of Lands and Parks.
  • In 1991, New Democrat Helmut Giesbrecht defeated Parker by 831 votes.
  • In 1996, Giesbrecht defeated Liberal Rick Wozney by 635 votes; served as Minister responsible for Public Service; Minister of Transportation and Highways.
  • In 2001, Liberal Roger Harris defeated Giesbrecht by 6,009 votes; served as Minister of State for Forestry Operations between January 26, 2004 and June, 2005.

In 2005, New Democrat Robin Austin defeated Harris by 359 votes.