Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 149/157 polls
LIB George Malcolm Abbott 9,915 Elected
NDP Steve Gunner 6,436
GRN Michel Saab 2,379
CON Beryl Alberta Ludwig 2,165
MP Chris Charles Emery 319

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





6,669 votes | 36.17%

11,770 votes | 63.83%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

138/157 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Southern Interior riding, in southeastern B.C., includes Spallumcheen, Armstrong, Enderby, Salmon Arm and Sicamous all in southern half of the riding; Shuswap Lake is in central part of the riding; Upper Seymour River Provincial Park is the northern boundary.
  • There are 10 native reserves in riding, including Okanagan IR1; the aboriginal population in the 2006 census was 7%.
  • Manufacturing and agriculture are among the major industries.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from western half of Shuswap-Revelstoke.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of riding and gained small area from Okanagan-Vernon.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 99% of riding; added 4% Okanagan-Vernon.

Political History

  • Shuswap: In 1991, New Democrat Shannon O'Neil defeated Liberal Michel Saab by 405 votes.
  • In 1996, Liberal George Abbott defeated New Democrat Calvin White by 727 votes.
  • In 2001, Liberal Abbott defeated New Democrat Wayne Fowler by 9,162 votes; appointed Minister of Community, Aboriginal and Women's Services on June 5, 2001; appointed Minister of Sustainable Resource Management January 26, 2004.
  • In 2005, Abbott defeated New Democrat Calvin White by 2,743 votes; on June 16, 2005 was appointed Minister of Health Services.