Results, Ridings & Candidates

Saanich North and the Islands

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 150/150 polls
LIB Murray Robert Coell 12,513 Elected
NDP Gary Holman 12,118
GRN Tom Bradfield 3,016

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





12,542 votes | 47.88%

13,651 votes | 52.12%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

147/153 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Island riding which includes the municipalities of Central Saanich, North Saanich and Sidney as well as the islands in the Strait of Georgia including Galiano, Mayne, Pender (North and South), Salt Spring and Saturna.
  • There are also several native reserves including South Saanich IR1 and East Saanich IR2.
  • The Institute of Ocean Services and the Marine Technology Centre near Patricia Bay are located here, providing valuable research bases; tourism is significant to the economy, particularly during the summer.
  • The aboriginal population was 4.4% in the 2006 census; 23% of the population was over 65.


  • Riding created in 1989 from part of Saanich & Islands. No change in 2000 or 2008 redistributions.

Political History

  • Saanich North and the Islands: In 1991, Liberal Clive Tanner defeated New Democrat Elsie McMurphy by 4,888 votes.
  • In 1996, Liberal Murray Coell defeated New Democrat Lynda Laushway by 2,828 votes.
  • In 2001, Coell defeated Green candidate Andrew Lewis by 8,195 votes; was appointed Minister of Human Resources on June 5, 2001; appointed Minister of Community, Aboriginal and Women's Services on January 26, 2004.
  • In 2005, Coell defeated New Democrat Christine Hunt by 1,939 votes; on June 16, 2005 was appointed Minister of Advanced Education and Minister responsible for Research and Technology; on June 23, 2008 appointed Minister of Advanced Education and Labour Market Development.