Results, Ridings & Candidates

Prince George-Mackenzie

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 112/112 polls
LIB Pat Bell 9,392 Elected
NDP Tobias Lawrence 6,101
GRN Kevin Creamore 1,175

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





4,725 votes | 31.86%

10,105 votes | 68.14%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

98/112 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This mountainous Northern Interior riding includes the northwest section of Prince George in the southeast corner. (The dividing line of Prince George into Prince George-Mackenzie and Prince George-Valemount is Highway 97.)
  • Highway 39 runs from Prince George in the south, through the northern part of the Fraser-Fort George Regional District including Summit Lake, Bear Lake, McLeod Lake and Mackenzie and to the northwest corner of the riding.
  • There are several native reserves in the riding including McLeod Lake IR1, Kerry Lake West IR8 and IR9, Parsnips IR5 and Weedon Carp IR6.
  • In 2006 census, aboriginal population was 9%.
  • Manufacturing (15%) was main industry.


  • Riding created in 2008 redistribution from: 79% Prince George North, 23% Prince George-Mount Robson and 26% Prince George-Omineca.

Political History

  • Prince George North: In 1986, New Democrat Lois Boone defeated Social Credit Gordon Springate by 526 votes.
  • New Democrat Paul Ramsey won in 1991 and 1996. Served as Minister of Health; Min responsible for Seniors; Minister of Education, Skills and Training; Minister of Environment, Lands and Parks; Minister of Education; Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs; Minister responsible for Northern Development.
  • In 2001, Liberal Pat Bell defeated New Democrat Bryan Llewellyn by 7,067 votes. Appointed Minister of State for Mining.
  • In 2005, Bell defeated New Democrat Deborah Poff by 2,099 votes. Apppointed Minister of Agriculture and Lands; Minister of Forests and Range.