Results, Ridings & Candidates

Powell River-Sunshine Coast

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 130/136 polls
NDP Nicholas Simons 11,850 Elected
LIB Dawn Miller 6,864
GRN Jeff Chilton 1,253
BCR Allen McIntyre 230

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,349 votes | 40.13%

10,962 votes | 59.87%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

118/136 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This riding on the Strait of Georgia, framed by the Coastal Mountains, stretches from Gibsons and Sechelt in the Sunshine Coast Regional District in the south through the Powell River Regional District in the north.
  • Most of the population is concentrated along Sunshine Coast.
  • More than 95% of the riding is inaccessible to development.
  • There are over 30 native reserves in the riding, including Sechelt Lands and Sechelt Bands reserves.
  • In 2006 census, population over 65 was 19%; aboriginal population was 5.5%.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from most of Mackenzie.
  • Only minor change in 2000 redistribution.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 99% of riding.

Political History

  • Powell River-Sunshine Coast: In 1991, Liberal Gordon Wilson defeated New Democrat Howard White by 4,369 votes. Wilson became the leader of BC Liberals in 1987; he resigned as Leader of the Opposition in 1993. Wilson was defeated for Liberal leadership that same year. He sat as an Independent (as leader of Progressive Democratic Alliance).
  • In 1996, the now Progressive Democratic Alliance Wilson defeated New Democrat Bill Forst by 4,745 votes. Appointed Special Consultant to the government in 1997; joined the government in 1999 and was appointed Minister of Aboriginal Affairs; Minister responsible for BC Ferries; Minister of Finance & Corporate Relations; Minister of Education; Minister of Employment and Investment; Minister of Forests.
  • In 2001, Liberal Harold Long defeated the now New Democrat Wilson by 3,555 votes.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Nicholas Simons defeated Liberal Maureen Clayton by 3,397 votes.