Results, Ridings & Candidates

Port Moody-Coquitlam

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 126/126 polls
LIB Iain Black 9,467 Elected
NDP Shannon Watkins 7,188
GRN Rebecca Helps 1,201
YPP James Filippelli 172
BCR Donna Vandekerkhove 78

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





6,553 votes | 37.14%

11,092 votes | 62.86%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

126/126 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding includes Port Moody, Anmore, Belcarra as well as part of Coquitlam (in south) – area north and west of Austin Avenue/Blue Mountain Road/Foster Avenue/Gatenburgy Street to Port Moody/Coquitlam boundary.
  • Indian Arm Provincial Park covers most of northern part of riding. Indian Arm forms western boundary.
  • In 2006 census, immigration population was 32%; visible minority population was 28%.


  • Riding created in 2008 redistribution from: 44% Port Moody-Westwood; 30% Burquitlam.

Political History

  • Port Moody-Westwood: In 2001, Liberal Christy Clark (incumbent from Port Moody-Burnaby Mountain) won by 12,322 votes. Appointed Minister of Education; Deputy Premier; Minister of Children and Family Development.
  • In September 2004, Clark left the Cabinet and said she wouldn't be running again.
  • In 2005, Liberal Ian Black defeated New Democrat Karen Rockwell by 4,313 votes.