Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 171/171 polls
LIB Bill Barisoff 9,794 Elected
NDP Cameron Phillips 6,926
GRN Julius Robert Bloomfield 3,446
CON Chris Delaney 1,970
BCR Wendy Dion 69

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





8,446 votes | 39.66%

12,848 votes | 60.34%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

171/171 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Southern Interior riding with Penticton in the south and Peachland in the north.
  • Summerland is in the central part of the riding, west of Okanagan Lake, which divides most of the riding into east and west areas.
  • Penticton is the largest population base and the commercial centre.
  • Lots of orchards, tree and vine fruits; as well as canneries and wineries.
  • Penticton IR1 is in the southern part of tje riding.
  • In 2006 census, population over 65 was 24% – 4th highest in B.C.


  • Penticton riding was created in 2008 redistribution from: 63% Penticton-Okanagan Valley; 32% Okanagan-Westside.

Political History

  • Okanagan-Boundary: In 1991, New Democrat Bill Barlee defeated Social Credit Chuck Stone. Appointed Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; Minister of Small Business, Tourism and Culture.
  • In 1996, Liberal Bill Barisoff defeated Barlee by 27 votes.
  • Penticton-Okanagan Valley: In 2001, Barisoff defeated Naga Terada by 11,722 votes. Appointed Minister of Provincial Revenue; Minister of Water, Land & Air Protection.
  • In 2005, Barisoff defeated New Democrat Garry Litke by 3,453 votes.