Results, Ridings & Candidates

Oak Bay-Gordon Head

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 134/134 polls
LIB Ida Chong 11,266 Elected
NDP Jessica Van der Veen 10,736
GRN Steven Johns 2,152

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





11,850 votes | 49.80%

11,943 votes | 50.20%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

134/134 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This riding, on the Strait of Juan de Fuca, contains the District Municipality of Oak Bay, the eastern part of the District Municipality of Saanich, as well as Chatham, Discovery and Radio Islands.
  • The riding's west boundary is Cordova Bat Road/Cedar Hill Road/Shelbourne Street/Newton Street/Bay Street/Haultain Road/Foul Bay Road.
  • Area was once the preserve of the Hudson's Bay Co. and now is one of B.C. most affluent ridings.
  • The University of Victoria and the Lanmosun Campus of Camosun College are also in the riding.
  • In 2006 census, 36% had university degrees.
  • Immigrant population was 26%. Visible minority population was 15% – 12% Chinese.


  • In 2000 redistribution, kept all existing riding and added area from Victoria-Hillside.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 92% of riding; added 8% from Victoria-Hillside.

Political History

  • Oak Bay-Gordon Head: Social Credit Brian Smith won in 1979, 1983, 1986. Served as Minister of Education; Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources; Attorney-General.
  • After Smith resigned, New Democrat Elizabeth Cull won in December 1989.
  • In 1991, Cull defeated Liberal Paul McKivett by 837 votes. Served as Minister of Health; Deputy Premier; Minister of Finance and Corporate Relations.
  • In 1996, Liberal Ida Chong defeated Cull by 640 votes.
  • In 2001, Chong defeated New Democrat Charley Beresford by 8,799 votes. Appointed Minister of State for Women's & Seniors' Services; Minister of Advanced Education.
  • In 2005, Chong again defeated Beresford, this time by 1,427 votes. Served as Minister of Community Services; Minister responsible for Seniors' and Women's Issues; Minister of Technology, Trade and Economic Development; Minister responsible for Asia-Pacific Initiative; Minister of Small Business, Technology and Economic Development.