Results, Ridings & Candidates

North Vancouver-Seymour

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 122/122 polls
LIB Jane Ann Thornthwaite 12,781 Elected
NDP Mo Norton 5,831
GRN Daniel Quinn 1,966
CON Gary Bickling Hee 865

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





8,482 votes | 40.90%

12,256 votes | 59.10%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

122/122 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This riding, with a southern boundary on Burrard Inlet, includes the Greater Vancouver Regional District in the north and the District Municipality of North Vancouver including that part of City of North Vancouver north of Marine Drive/Mackay Avenue and the border of the City of North Vancouver.
  • Area is one of the most desirable Vancouver suburbs.
  • Riding is mostly residential, affluent and well-educated (31% had university degrees).
  • It has multi-million-dollar waterfront palaces at Deep Cove and average-sized suburban houses in neighbourhoods such as Lynn Valley, as well as cheaper apartments and townhouses.
  • Burrard Inlet IR3 is also in riding.
  • Immigration population was 29% in 2006 census.


  • No change in 2000 redistribution.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 92% of riding; added 3% from West Vancouver-Capilano.

Political History

  • North Vancouver-Seymour: Social Credit Jack Davis won in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1986. Served as Minister of Transportation and Communications; Minister of Energy, Transportation & Communications; Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources.
  • Davis died before 1991 election.
  • Liberal Dan Jarvis won in 1991 and 1996.
  • In 2001, Jarvis defeated Green Evelyn Kirkaldy by 11,441 votes.
  • In 2005, Jarvis defeated New Democrat Cathy Pinsent by 6,923 votes.
  • In March 2009, Jarvis announced he would not run again due to health problems.