Results, Ridings & Candidates

North Coast

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 67/67 polls
NDP Gary Coons 4,940 Elected
LIB Herb Pond 2,981
GRN Lisa Girbav 658

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





3,161 votes | 39.27%

4,888 votes | 60.73%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

65/67 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This riding, in Northwestern B.C. on the Pacific Ocean, has a border with Alaska as most of its northern border.
  • It includes the sparsely-populated Queen Charlotte Islands, Prince Rupert in the northeast corner as well as Bella Coola and Bella Bella in the south.
  • Fishing fleets operate out of Prince Rupert.
  • The Queen Charlotte waters are an important source of halibut, salmon, herring, rockfish, crabs and abalone.
  • In 2006 census, aboriginal population was 44.5% – the highest in the province.


  • Created in 1989 redistribution from Prince Rupert as well as areas from the Skeena, Aitlin and Mackenzie ridings.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept all existing riding and added a small area from Bulkley Valley-Stikine.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 90% of riding; added a small area from Cariboo South.

Political History

  • Prince Rupert: New Democrat Graham Lea won in 1972, 1975, 1979 and 1983.
  • In 1986, New Democrat Dan Miller defeated Social Credit Bob Long by 1,853 votes.
  • North Coast: New Democrat Dan Miller won in 1991 and 1996. Served as Minister of Forests; Minister of Skills, Training and Labour; Minister of Employment & Investment; Deputy Premier; Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; Minister of Energy, Mines and Northern Development; Premier from August 1999 to February 2000.
  • In 2001, Liberal Bill Belsey defeated New Democrat Colleen Fitzpatrick by 831 votes.
  • In 2006, New Democrat Gary Coons defeated Belsey by 1,660 votes.