Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 96/96 polls
NDP Michelle Mungall 8,517 Elected
LIB Josh Smienk 4,979
GRN Sean McGeorge Kubara 1,106
CON David Duncan 1,044

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,437 votes | 48.77%

7,813 votes | 51.23%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

96/96 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This riding, in southeastern B.C., has the border with U.S. as its southern boundary.
  • The main population centres of Nelson, Creston and Salmo are in southern part of riding; Kaslo and Ainsworth Hot Springs are in central part of riding.
  • There are several native reserves in the riding, including Creston IR1.
  • In 2006 census, aboriginal population was 4%.


  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of existing riding; added area from Rossland-Trail.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 81% of riding.

Political History

  • Nelson-Creston: New Democrat Lorne Nicholson won in 1972, 1975, 1979 and 1983.
  • In 1986, Social Credit Howard Dirks defeated New Democrat Corky Evans by 27 votes. Served as Minister of Crown Lands; Provincial Secretary; Minister of Development, Trade and Tourism.
  • In 1991, Evans defeated Dirks by 2,844 votes. Served as Minister of Transportation and Highways.
  • In 1996, Evans defeated the now Liberal Dirks by 2,745 votes. Served as Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries & Food; Minister responsible for Rural Development; Minister of Health.
  • In 2001, Liberal Blair Suffredine defeated Evans by 1,577 votes.
  • In 2005, Evans defeated Suffredine by 7,034 votes.
  • In June 2008 Evans announced that he wouldn't be running again.