Results, Ridings & Candidates

Nechako Lakes

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 80/80 polls
LIB John Rustad 4,666 Elected
NDP Byron Robert Goerz 2,970
GRN Gerard Michael Riley 522
BCR Mike Summers 223

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





2,417 votes | 29.44%

5,792 votes | 70.56%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

80/80 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This Northern Interior riding runs from Tweedsmuir and Entiako Parks in the south to Omineca Provincial Park in the NE corner.

  • The Yellowhead Highway runs east-west across the riding, connecting Prince George with Prince Rupert.

  • The main population centres of Vanderhoof, Fraser Lake, Fort St. James, Burns Lake, Houston and Granisle are in the central part of riding.

  • There are over 30 native reserves in the riding – aboriginal population in 2006 census was 22%.


  • Riding was created in 2008 redistribution from: 40% Prince George-Omineca; 38% Bulkley Valley-Stikine.

Political History

  • Prince George-Omineca: Liberal Paul Nettleton won in 1996 and 2001.
  • In 2002, Nettleton was permanently expelled from the Liberal caucus after refusing refusing to apologize for accusing the government of having a secret agenda to privatize BC Hydro. Sat as an Independent.
  • In 2005, Liberal John Rustand defeated New Democrat Chuck Fraser by 2,442 votes.
  • Bulkley Valley-Stikine: New Democrat Jackie Pement won in 1991
  • New Democrat Bill Goodacre won in 1996.
  • In 2001, Liberal Dennis MacKay defeated New Democrat Bill Goodacre by 4,591 votes.
  • In 2005, MacKay defeated New Democrat Doug Donaldson by 1,102 votes.