Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 132/132 polls
NDP Leonard Krog 11,057 Elected
LIB Jeet Manhas 7,497
GRN Dirk Becker 1,852
BCR Linden Robert Shaw 254

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





8,459 votes | 42.08%

11,643 votes | 57.92%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

132/132 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This Island riding, on the Strait of Georgia, contains the part of Nanaimo north of Needham Street/View Street/5th Street/Harewood Road and east of Highway 19.
  • Protection and Newcastle Islands are also in the riding.
  • Hemlock and Douglas firs are logged in area and then processed at several sites.


  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of the riding; added small areas from Cowichan-Ladysmith and Parksville-Qualicum.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept only 50% of riding; added 38% Nanaimo-Parksville.

Political History

  • Nanaimo: New Democrat Dave Stupich won in 1963.
  • Social Credit Frank Ney defeated Stupich in 1969.
  • Stupich defeated Ney in 1972, and was re-elected in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1986. Served as Minister of Agriculture; Minister of Finance. Resigned to run federally.
  • In 1989, New Democrat Jan Pullinger won the March by-election by 5,551 votes.
  • New Democrat Dale Lovick won in 1991 and 1996. Served as Minister of Labour; Minister of Aboriginal Affairs; House Leader.
  • In 2001, Liberal Mike Hunter defeated New Democrat Leonard Krog by 3,146 votes.
  • In 2005, Krog defeated Hunter by 4,569 votes.