Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 172/172 polls
LIB Steve Thomson 10,779 Elected
NDP Tisha Kalmanovitch 5,164
CON Mark Thompson 2,348
GRN Crystal Wariach 1,425
IND Silverado Brooks Socrates 113
BCR Daniel Bonaventure Thorburn 44

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





6,960 votes | 36.59%

12,062 votes | 63.41%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

172/172 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • A Southern Interior riding, in the Central Okanagan Regional District, which contains southern part of Kelowna (south of Cadder Avenue/Gordon Drive/Highway 97) in its NW corner with Highway 33 making up rest of its northern border.
  • Okanagan Lake forms border in west. Medicine Hill IRs 11 and 12 are in northern part of riding.
  • Kelowna is the major commercial/services centre in this area of southern B.C. and region is known for its apple orchards, fruit trees and vineyards and is the centre of B.C. wine industry.
  • In the 2006 census, 20% of the population was over age 65.


  • Riding created in 2000 redistribution from parts of Okanagan West and Okanagan East.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 87% of riding; added 1% Kelowna-Lake Country.

Political History

  • This area is the birthplace of the Social Credit party.
  • Okanagan West: In 1996, Liberal Sindi Hawkins defeated New Democrat Ken Charlish by 7,294 votes.
  • Kelowna-Mission: In 2001, Liberal Sindi Hawkins, Okanagan West, defeated New Democrat Assunta Rosal by 12,285 votes.; appointed Minister of Health Planning on June 5, 2001; served as Minister of State for Intergovernmental Relations from January 2004 until June 2005.
  • In 2005, Hawkins defeated New Democrat Nicki Hokazono by 5,638 votes.
  • Hawkins has battled cancer since 2004.
  • Announced in November 2008 that she wouldn't be running again.