Results, Ridings & Candidates

Fort Langley-Aldergrove

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 141/141 polls
LIB Rich Coleman 14,576 Elected
NDP Gail Ruth Chaddock-Costello 7,131
GRN Travis Erbacher 1,669
BCR Jordan Braun 376

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,148 votes | 30.71%

16,125 votes | 69.29%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

141/141 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • This lower mainland riding contains eastern part of the District Municipality of Langley.
  • It is bounded by the Maple Ridge/Langley border and the Fraser River in north; Langley/Abbotsford border in the east; the B.C./U.S. border in south; the west boundary is the Langley border with Surrey/72nd Avenue/Crush Crescent/216th Street/56th Avenue/232nd Street.
  • It includes Aldergrove Canadian Forces Station, Trinity Western University, Katzie IR2, Matsquit IR4 and McMillan Island IR6.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from most of Langley riding.
  • In 2000 redistribution, lost area to Langley riding and gained area from Langley riding.
  • No change in 2008 redistribution.

Political History

  • In 1991, Liberal Gary Farrell-Collins defeated New Democrat Charles Bradford by 2,636 votes; Farrell-Collins ran in Vancouver-Little Mountain in 1996.
  • In 1996, Liberal Rich Coleman defeated Bradford by 4,636 votes.
  • A recall petition issued January 27, 1998 failed.
  • In 2001, Coleman defeated Green candidate Andrea Welling by 13,761 votes; was appointed Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor-General on June 5, 2001.
  • In 2005, Coleman defeated New Democrat Shane Dyson by 7,857 votes; was appointed Minister of Forests and Range and Minister responsible for Housing June 16, 2005; was appointed Minister of Housing and Social Development on June 23, 2008.