Results, Ridings & Candidates

Esquimalt-Royal Roads

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 126/126 polls
NDP Maurine Karagianis 10,705 Elected
LIB Carl Edward Ratsoy 6,098
GRN Jane Sterk 3,370

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





9,596 votes | 48.42%

10,224 votes | 51.58%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

126/126 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Vancouver Island riding, on Strait of Juan de Fuca/Victoria Harbour, has Thetis Lake Regional Park as its NW corner; it includes urban, suburban, suburban/rural and rural communities.
  • It contains small area of Victoria in east as well as Esquimalt, View Royal and Colwood; CFB Esquimalt, Esquimalt IR and New Songhees IR1A are also in the riding.
  • Aboriginal population was over 4.5% in 2006 census.


  • Esquimalt-Metchosin riding was created out of Esquimalt-Port Renfrew riding.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of riding; added a small area from Malahat-Juan de Fuca.
  • In 2008 redistribution, riding became Esquimalt-Royal Roads; kept 79% of Esquimalt-Metchosin; added 11% Victoria-Beacon Hill.

Political History

  • Esquimalt-Port Renfrew :New Democrat Frank Mitchell won in 1979 and 1983.
  • In 1986, New Democrat Moe Sihota defeated Social Credit Brian Killip by 3,549 votes.
  • Esquimalt-Metchosin/Esquimalt-Royal Roads: Sihota, the incumbent in Esquimalt-Port Renfrew, won in 1991 and 1996 by 7,603 votes; served as Minister of Labour and Consumer Services; Minister responsible for Constitutional Affairs; Government House Leader; Minister of Environment, Lands & Parks; Minister responsible for Multiculturalism; Minister of Education, Skills and Training; Minister responsible for Public Service; Minister of Social Development and Economic Security; Minister responsible for Housing.
  • In 2001, Liberal Arnie Hamilton defeated New Democrat Maurine Karagianis by 3,286 votes.
  • In 2005, Karagianis defeated Liberal Tom Woods by 2,895 votes.