Results, Ridings & Candidates

Cowichan Valley

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 140/140 polls
NDP Bill Routley 11,575 Elected
LIB Cathy Basskin 8,734
GRN Simon Lindley 2,807
CON Stewart Jason Murray 868
BCR Michial Rupert Moore 132

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





10,256 votes | 44.10%

13,001 votes | 55.90%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

140/140 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding, in central part of Vancouver Island, includes southern part of North Cowichan, south of Herd Road, Duncan, Cobble Hill, Cherry Point, Shawinigan Lake and Bamberton in east and Caycuse, Lake Cowichan, Youbou and Honeymoon Bay in west.
  • It also includes Cowichan IRs 1 and 9, Cowichan Lake IR, Est-Patrolas IR4, Kit-Pah-Las IR11, Malahat IR11, Theik IR2 and Tzart-Lam IR5.
  • In 2006 census, aboriginal population was 9%; population over 65 was 16.5%.


  • Riding created in 2008 redistribution from: 60% Cowichan-Ladysmith; 41% Malahat-Juan-de-Fuca.

Political History

  • Cowichan-Ladysmith: In 1991, New Democrat Jan Pullinger (Nanaimo) defeated Social Credit Graham Bruce (Cowichan-Malahat).
  • In 1996, Pullinger defeated Liberal Ray Smith by 4,466 votes; served as Minister of Small Business, Tourism & Culture; Minister of Human Resources; Minister of Community Development, Co-ops and Volunteers; Minister of Social Development and Economic Security.
  • In 2001, now Liberal Graham Bruce defeated New Democrat Rob Hutchins by 4,924 votes; appointed Minister of Skills Development and Labour on June 5, 2001; Government House Leader December 15, 2004.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Doug Routley defeated Bruce by 2,589 votes.