Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 152/152 polls
NDP Diane Thorne 9,265 Elected
LIB Dennis John Marsden 8,755
GRN Stephen Reid 980
IND Doug Stead 462

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





4,064 votes | 36.70%

7,011 votes | 63.30%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

94/152 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding contains that part of Coquitlam between Fraser River in the south and the CPR line/Viewmount Drive/Brookmount Avenue in north; between Coquitlam/Port Coquitlam border and Coquitlam River in east and Coquitlam border (with New Westminster)/Austin Avenue/Blue Mountain Street/Foster Avenue/Gatensbury Street in west.
  • Coquitlam IR1 is in the southeast corner of riding.
  • Primarily a residential suburb, although substantial industry along waterfront in the south, mainly with lumber and plywood products.
  • In 2006 census, immigration population was 31%. Visible minority population was 29%.


  • In 1989 redistribution, riding changed from Maillardville-Coquitlam to Coquitlam-Maillardville.
  • In 2000, kept most of riding; added areas from Port Moody-Burnaby Mountain and Port Coquitlam.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 91% of riding and added 12% Burquitlam.

Political History

  • Coquitlam-Maillardville: In 1991, New Democrat John Cashore (incumbent from Maillardville-Coquitlam) won here by 2,206 votes; served as Minister of Environment, Lands and Parks; Minister of Aboriginal Affairs.
  • In 1996, Cashore defeated Liberal Maxine Wilson by 1,372 votes; served as Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Minister of Labour.
  • In 2001, Liberal Richard Stewart defeated New Democrat Ken Landgraff by 7,107 votes.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Diane Thorne defeated Stewart by 531 votes.