Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 87/87 polls
NDP Charlie Wyse 5,813 Elected
LIB Donna Barnett 5,791
GRN Elli Taylor 586

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





3,824 votes | 32.73%

7,860 votes | 67.27%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

86/87 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • A Northern Interior riding which contains part of Cariboo Regional District including 100 Mile House, Williams Lake and over 25 native reserves including Canim Lake IR1 and Canoe Creek IR3.
  • Lumber industry has been a prime factor of growth in region as well as manufacturing (including plywood and veneer products).
  • In 2006 census, aboriginal population was 18%.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from part of Cariboo riding.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of riding; added areas from Yale-Lillooet and Kamloops ridings.
  • In 2008 redistribution, riding became Cariboo-Chilcotin; kept 77% Cariboo South; added 10% Cariboo North.

Political History

  • Cariboo South/Cariboo Chilcotin: In 1991, New Democrat David Zirnhelt, incumbent from Cariboo, won here; served as Minister of Economic Development, Business and Trade, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries and Food.
  • In 1996, New Democrat Zirnhelt defeated Liberal Dave Worthy by 322 votes; served as Minister of Forests and Minister of Aboriginal Affairs.

In 2001, LiberaI Walt Cobb defeated New Democrat Zirnhelt by 6,000 votes.

In 2005, New Democrat Charlie Wyse defeated Liberal Cobb by 114 votes.